Buying in Bulk

Oy.  The last few days have been a whirlwind of maths and getting to know new friends.  And more maths.  Oh.  And an epic trip to Costco.  For which, I will now profess my love for Costco.  Openly.  On the internet.

Two of my new grad school friends, Matt & Arseni, got a Costco membership to split.  Since I love Costco, but didn’t see the point of me getting a membership when two people in my program had memberships, I kindly asked them to take me with them when they went.  Low and behold, I got a phone call at 2:20 today – and we were off to the races!

Now the thing I love about bulk is how cheap/unit everything is.  the thing I don’t like about bulk is the fact that I don’t have anywhere to store anything.  Solution to this problem?  Go shopping with friends who need the same items!!!

As such, I was able to get quart Ziploc bags and Worcestershire sauce without having to buy 216 Ziploc bags and 2 quarts of Worcestershire sauce – which would’ve been absolutely ridiculous.  My apartment is small – I don’t have that kind of space!!!

I was also able to get a 4 pound bag of quinoa, 8 cans of Amy’s soup, 6 months worth of allergy meds, 3 pounds of chicken sausage, bell peppers, bananas, and I’m sure I’m forgetting something – all for $72.  That’s pretty darn good – and I’m set for everything but fresh veggies, for quite some time.  w00t.

I heart Amy’s soup – and it was only $1.49/can!  SUCH a good deal!

P1090450

Then today, for dinner I made one of my favorite & easy meals.

Chicken Sausage & Pasta

Using the chicken sausage I picked up at Costco, I sauteed three cut up sausages with spinach and garlic.

P1090438

While I sauteed the chicken sausage, I boiled the water and cooked 3 servings of brown rice pasta.  Then, once everything was cooked – combined, and added my red bell pepper pasta sauce from Safeway, and voila.  Delicious meal in under 15 minutes.

P1090448

I also had a spinach salad on the side.

And now, I sleep.  Long run tomorrow, followed by a review session for the math camp final on Friday.

In response to a few questions I’ve received about math camp…No, it is not fun.  Why it is called a ‘camp’ then?  Beats me.

1 thought on “Buying in Bulk

  1. I LURVE Costco as well (and I must say it is about 100x better than Sam’s Club haha).
    I need to convince Tyler to go there in the next few days we’re running low on key items 🙂 and they are definitely the cheapest place for quite a few items.

Leave a comment