Brooks Pure Project Fashion Show

I recently had the privilege to get a preview of the Brooks PureProject apparel and see the new Transcend which hit shelves this weekend (seriously crazy shoe!). Potomac River Running hosted one of Brooks‘ fashion shows to introduce the product to the staff and running community. They went all out with goodie bags, food, wine and models.  [There was supposed to be a DJ but he never showed.]

image_10

The goodie bags were filled with premium glass water bottles, a travel case for toiletries and some Brooks soap-on-a-rope (sorry no photos of the goodies inside!)

Next up, Brooks catered the event with delicious food and wine from Whole Foods.  Seriously, the toppings on the toasted french bread were to.die.for.  I didn’t snap any photos of the food directly, but my goodness they were tasty.

image_13

Next up was the main event — the clothes!  Brooks brought in models to wear the new PureProject apparel clothing, which is advertised to be functional for daily life and working out.

image_4

image_3

image_1

I have to say that for the most part, I love the apparel.  The shorts are adorable and come in some fun patterns (Tribunal, Checkered) and the Seamless Capris are so cute and the material feels soooo nice.

image_9

image_7

There are a couple cute tops as well (I really love this LS and this tank) though I do have to admit, I’m a little baffled by the women’s PureProject Jacket.  Love the pattern, love the fabric, but I’m not sold on the fit.  The top half of the jacket looks like it just hangs there, and I don’t think it would be that flattering on someone who is well endowed or a little bigger and un-model like.  I definitely think the jacket could have been designed to be a little more flattering for all body types.

Now, the men’s PureProject Jacket?!  That is a completely different store.  Swoonbait – I wish they had a women’s version of this.  Simple and clean.

image_5

Also, for the men I loved this SS top (It also comes in LS).  Especially in the yellow.  Its a workout shirt without looking like a workout shirt.  And the fabric is so soft and comfortable.  I could definitely see lots of men wearing this to the gym and around town.  And I kind of want one of my own, either for myself or for the boyfriend so that I can steal it…

image_6

All in all, I was impressed with the simplicity and functionality of the Brooks PureProject apparel line, something that I was unaware of until recently.  I love the versatility of the clothing — you can definitely wear it for just hanging out or for working out — as well as the feel of the fabric and the definite quality you can see in the apparel.

I’m definitely excited to see this line evolve, especially as the Moving Comfort clothing line is being phased out (DON’T WORRY MOVING BRA AFICIONADOS LIKE MYSELF – THE BRAS ARE NOT GOING ANYWHERE!!!!) as I loved a lot of the MC clothing line, and think that Brooks will have great success with this line in the future.

I was excited to be a part of this fun evening, and love that I was able to get a closer look at the products as well as learn about them and discuss future plans with the Brooks Sales Rep for the region as well as some of the higher-ups from Brooks in Seattle.  Definitely a great company with some wonderful people creating great products for runners.

image

Brooks Models in PureProject Line.

[Although I was able to attend the fashion show through my affiliation with PRR as a sales team member and assistant coach, it was also open to the public and about 70-75 individuals attended the event.  I received no compensation for this post nor any products, and as always all opinions are my own.]
5 thoughts on “Brooks Pure Project Fashion Show

  1. I’m seriously bummed to hear that Moving Comfort clothing is going away! I’ve really liked the things they’ve been coming out with lately. This event looks like it was a lot of fun! I think the Pure Project clothing looks really interesting, but it seems really pricey compared to the very functional clothes Brooks has been producing recently.

    • I know. I was totally bummed as well. And you’re right on the price point. I think they’re trying to compete more with Lulu, Athleta, Lucy and others, but I will admit I have yet to buy something because of the price point. I mean I love the shorts, but $75?! I just can’t. I am a grad student. I am hoping they drop the price in the future.

    • Right?! I would’ve died and bought out there entire stock in my size. But trust me, when the Brooks rep mentioned they were phasing out the clothing line my FIRST question (interrupting him) was “BUT WHAT ABOUT THE BRAS?” They’re staying, thank the anti-sagging, non-bouncing, pain-free run gods of the world.

Leave a Reply

