#MCM2013: Training Week 4

I can’t believe I’m 4 weeks into training!  The first three weeks definitely had its ups and downs, with coming back from Peru, packing up and moving cross country and starting law school.  Check out the recaps of Week #1, #2, and #3 if you missed them!’

This past week, #4, was very much like week #3.  There was a lot of stress with starting law school, getting settled and figuring things out in a new city.  But, by the end of the week, I have to say, things started looking up.  Here’s a recap of my last week of training.

Week #4

The Plan:

Monday: Active Rest (Spin, Aquajog, Swim)
Tuesday:
Tempo Run (6)
Wednesday: 5-6 easy + Aquajog
Thursday: 6 Track + 1200m swim
Friday:
60 spin + 60 aquajog + arms/abs
Saturday:
1 w/u, 7 MGP
Sunday: 14 LSD

What Happened: (In pink is what was planned that actually happened)

Monday: Active Rest (moving)
Although today was supposed to include some active rest, I just let it consist of moving furniture from Ikea, shopping, walking a ridiculous amount and called it a day.  It was exhausting for sure (we spent 2 hours in Ikea alone…)

Tuesday: 4.11 easy (34:12)
Today was suppose to be a tempo, but I was tired from all the moving insanity.   I opted to just get in some miles and push at a hard pace during the flat parts of the middle two miles (7:20-7:30 pace) and let myself just feel like I had a ‘hard’ effort on the hills.  Not what it called for, but some decent miles nonetheless.

My mother and I also hit up Old Town Alexandria and got in quite a bit of walking, so I got a little extra exercise outside my run.

IMG_0929

Lunch spot in Old Town Alexandria!

IMG_0933

Mom and me on the Potomac!

Wednesday: Elliptical and arms/abs
Did 2 miles on the elliptical and then some arms and abs.  It was my birthday, so I wanted to get a little activity in, but not too much.  Then my mom and I hit up the Pentagon for a tour!

Thursday: Track! (6.09 in 51:50)
Hit the track bright and early again with the DC Luna Chix.  1 1/2 w/u, 4×100 strides w/ 100 recovery.  Then my workout was 8×400 w/ 200 recovery.  Goal was 1:30 or just below.  Was on point for the first 5, and then once again the stress of moving/starting to live in a new place/walking far much more than I’m used to took a toll.  Still they weren’t too far off (1:35, 1:35, 1:32).  I’ll take it.

Oh, and then law school started.

IMG_0963

The joys of lawschool…

Friday: Active Rest (40 Spin) and 5 min on the rock climbing wall!
Did a 40 minute spin while reading some for law school.  2 birds, 1 stone.  Not quite what was on schedule, but hey – Active Rest!  And I tried out the rock climbing wall in my gym.

IMG_0939

Continuous rock climbing wall!

Saturday: 7 MGP (1 w/u, 6 MGP)
Was supposed to be 7 MGP, but let’s be honest.  This week has been about adjusting and figuring out what my body can handle given the past few weeks, so I was happy with 6.  All my MGP miles were within range, with the exception of mile 3 and mile 6, but they weren’t too far off and had some hills/instances of me getting lost…  Still getting to know the trails and city.

IMG_0952

One of the new trails I run on!

Sunday: 14 LSD!
Had 14 on the schedule, and 14 I did!  Got to do the first 10 with a good friend, and then did the last 4 solo.  It was raining, but it was cool and felt good (a rarity, apparently, in DC this time of year on the cool part).  The first 10 were at 8:30 average, and the last 4 were hard for me (8:54 average) as I went home and changed before heading back out.  But sometimes nice and slow is the way to go.

Although this week had its ups and downs, it was definitely nice to finish out strong with a good track, MGP run and LSD.  Here’s to things turning up!

Running Total: ~31 run + 2 elliptical +40 spin
Workout Time Total:
~5:25

Week #5

The Plan:

Monday: Active Rest (Spin, Aquajog)
Tuesday:
Tempo Run (6)
Wednesday: 5-6 easy
Thursday: Track
Friday:
Rest/Active Rest
Saturday:
8 easy
Sunday: 1:30 LSD

Here’s to having settled in and getting back on track this week!!

Anyone else training for a race?  If so what one/when is it?

One thought on “#MCM2013: Training Week 4

Leave a Reply

