CrossFit 13.5 Live Announcement

This evening I had the opportunity to attend an incredible event: The live announcement of the CrossFit Open 13.5 WoD!

The event was held at the Civic Center in Santa Cruz, where I live (which also happens to be the birthplace of CrossFit!) and my CrossFit box bought a block of tickets, and as such I was able to go experience this incredible event.

We got there at 2:30 to start lining up (the doors opened around 3:45/4:00pm), and by the time we got there, the line was already starting to go around the block — CrossFitters are passionate and dedicated, that’s for sure.  Eventually we got in and they did some handstand competitions with CrossFitters — my girl Tiphanie represented our box!

IMG_0661 IMG_0663Tiphanie is in the center — rockin out the full handstand

Then it was time for the 13.5 announcement, and the crowd was in awe of the workout:

13.5

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 4 minutes of:
100 pound Thruster, 15 reps
15 Chest to bar Pull-ups

If 90 reps (3 rounds) are completed in under 4 minutes, time extends to 8 minutes.
If 180 reps (6 rounds) are completed in under 8 minutes, time extends to 12 minutes.
If 270 reps (9 rounds) are completed in under 12 minutes, time extends to 16 minutes.
Etc.

What a doozy.

First up, were the ladies.  Samantha Brink and Camille Leblanc-Bazinet.  They came out strong and killed it.  But first, we need to appreciate these ladies and the hard work they put into their bodies.  Holy awesome.

IMG_0670Smanatha Brink.   Her abs are even more impressive.IMG_0668Camille Leblanc-Bazinet.  I would kill for her arms.

The head-to-head competition was intense.  And they were pretty darn close through the first 4 minutes, and then in the second 4 minutes, Camille started to pull away — it was her insane ability to string together all those C2B pullups.  I was in awe.  The woman is pretty awesome.

IMG_0680 IMG_0679    IMG_0675 IMG_0674

It was seriously incredible.  After 8 min, Samantha was out, and it was just Camille left.  She started struggling towards the end on the Thrusters, but man was she awesome.

IMG_0677Camille finishing out her final thrusters solo.

Finishing with 244, Camille won it for the woman, but Samantha finished with a respectable 175.

Then, it was time for the men.  I lobbied for a better shot, and got entrance photos (which reminded me of American Gladiators) of Jason Khalipa (from NorCal CrossFit!) and Rich Fronning (hello, gorgeous).

IMG_0695 IMG_0689   IMG_0694  Rich Fronning’s back (yes, please) and Jason Khalipa on the C2B

Then men were intense, but you could tell that the weight on the thrusters was taxing.  Jason Khalipa held on through 8 minutes, and finished with 169 and Rich Fronning made it to 12 minutes with a total of 226.  Definitely have respect for these men, to say the least.

This event was so electric and the crowd intense, and it got me all fired up and excited for CrossFit and working out and pushing the limits.  And it helps that I have a fabulous group of friends at my box that feel the same way.

IMG_0696Andrea, Tiphanie, Anna, me and Claudia

Even though I’m not doing the Open this year, and won’t be doing 13.5, I’m super pumped to see the scores the members of my box (and these fabulous ladies) put up, and am seriously fired up and wanting to partake next year.  Yeah, CrossFit!

What do you think of 13.5?  I’m pretty sure that whoever came up with it is insane… or could only be a CrossFitter.

2 thoughts on “CrossFit 13.5 Live Announcement

  1. WOW!!! I didn’t realize that they made a live announcement for this. I am just really getting into crossfit, but I am obsessed with it. I can’t wait until after my marathon so that I can devote more time to it. Those women have the most incredible bodies!

    • Oh yes. They did live announcements for every one, and this one was so exciting! It definitely fired me up more than I already was for CrossFit, and has made me set new goals that I want to achieve while I keep on running (like getting unassisted pullups and learning how to kip like Camille!).

Leave a Reply

