Hyde Park Beef Stew

I got back on a cooking & cleaning kick recently, and while going through my cupboards today I discovered some spice mixes my good friend Lara had sent me from The Spice House in Chicago a few months back (okay it might have been close to a year).

I also remembered that I had some grass fed beef stew meat in the freezer I had picked up from WF about a month ago when it was on sale.  Badabing-badabang, I pulled out my crockpot and got to work.

It actually turned out incredibly good and is Paleo (except for the fact I added cornstarch to thicken it because I got really hungry, it was too soupy and I had added a little too much broth).  As such, I thought I’d share it with you, as its a quick, delicious, hearty meal that will definitely fuel you well and keep you warm as fall weather starts rolling in.

Hyde Park Beef Stew (4-5 servings)

  • 1 pound beef stew meat
  • 3 carrots, sliced
  • 3 celery stalks, sliced
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 3 small-med sweet potatoes, sliced
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 3-4 c broth (I used chicken because that’s what I had, but I think beef would be richer)
  • 1/4 c Hyde Park Seasoning (or more…I love a lot of flavor, so I added a lot)

Slice everything to be bite size, and put all ingredients it in the crockpot.  Turn on high for 4-6 hours.  Add only 3 cups broth if you want it to be thicker (if it ends up too soupy and you’re not strict Paleo you can always add in cornstarch to thicken it a bit, which is what I did).

Then, ladle it into bowls, serve and enjoy.  There’s a little kick to the stew, but that’s what I love about it.  Its full of flavor and definitely reminds me of the Hyde Park neighborhood in Chicago.

Its a fast, easy way to get a delicious, home cooked meal.  And one I plan on making again and again…once I replenish my spice stash.

Have any spice mixes you recommend?  Recipes to accompany them?

One thought on “Hyde Park Beef Stew

Leave a Reply

