Big Kahuna: It’s Here

Its hard to believe that after months of planning, months of training (though I kind of stopped blogging my training due to work/school commitments), and a few prep triathlons (Sandman and Tri Santa Cruz), the day I have been waiting for for months, the day I become a half ironman, that’s tomorrow.

Yeah, Big Kahuna?!  That’s here…

Say, what?!  I have to workout for six consecutive hours tomorrow?  Why am I doing this?  Oh yeah, because I love tris, I’m a little crazy and its something I’ve always wanted to do.

So what have I been up to these past few months?  Well, according to dailymile, my weekly training has looked something like this:

It includes running, cycling and swim mileage.  I clearly had a pattern of one strong week, one weak week in terms of training, especially the past few weeks, but I think I’m fairly well prepared.  What’s not on there is my strength training (I joined CrossFit about 2 months ago), and the fact that I took my rest fairly seriously (especially after my tris).

Did my training lack of anything?  Well, I only did one 50 mile ride (a loooong time ago), and it was always hard for me to get out on the bike.  I really need to invest in a traininer.  As such, its the ONE part of the tri I’m actually terrified of.  Not just because of the time I’ll be spending on the bike (3-3 1/2 hours hopefully), but because of the terrain and weather — its up Hwy 1 from Santa Cruz to Pigeon Point, with lots of rolling hills and the headwind going north can be narly, like so narly it blows you over.  Here’s hoping for little-to-no wind (wishful thinking ;))

And with that, in less than 24 hours, I’ll be a half iron(wo)man.  What?!  Yeah, let’s make that 19 hours.

Here goes nothing!  See you on the other side!

 

2 thoughts on “Big Kahuna: It’s Here

Leave a Reply

