BigK2012: Week 1 Recap

Its hard to believe that I’m already a week through half ironman training for The Big Kahuna. Only 17 more weeks to go!

My first week of training looked like this:

Screen Shot 2012-05-13 at 4.08.15 PM
It was a little intense, and intimidated me quite a bit. But I”m confident to say, it went well. Here’s how it ended up happening.
Monday 5/7


IMG_20120508_110241

1000m swim
20 mi (I think it might have been km) cycle
strength + cardio class
Tuesday 5/8
1000m swim
I was a little tired after Day 1, so I decided right off the bat to rearrange the schedule a bit.
Wednesday 5/9


IMG_20120513_091925
strength + cardio class
5 mile run (3 with Alisyn!)
Felt great!
Thursday 5/10

1000m swim
6 1/2 mile track workout
  • 1.5 mile warmup
  • 3x1mile at 7:25 pace, 90 seconds rest
  • 4×200 in 45 seconds, with 200m walk/jog between
  • 1 mile cool down

Great track workout with my new endurance team!

Friday 5/11

20 mile cycle up Hwy 1.

Absolutely serene ride, my legs felt great.

Saturday 5/12

5 mile run, 2.5 mile walk

Hungover. Enough said.

Sunday 5/13


IMG_20120507_100242

25 mile spin sesh
1 mile shakeout run

Total miles: 81

Feel: Tired, but strong. I know there is so much more I’m building up to, but I’m confident that this training schedule is going to prepare me for the best race I can give. Still probably overly excited about training πŸ™‚

This week’s training fuel was brought to you (unofficially and only because I consume these products like its my job) by CalNaturale, O.N.E. Coconut Water and Nuun . I seriously have been downing this stuff, and between the protein, potassium and electrolytes, my Aspaeris Pivot Compression shorts and PRO Compression socks, my legs and body feel awesome. Very fueled, energetic, and my muscles are only minimally sore.

Up this week?

Screen Shot 2012-05-13 at 4.16.33 PM
Nothing too drastically different, so I think i’ve got this in the bag. Though I might start moving my swims to be M/W/F until the quarter is over early June due to class conflicts. And just make Friday an ‘easy’ day instead of a rest day. Thoughts? Or should I ensure I have a rest day scheduled in?

What are you training for this summer?! Any big race or fitness goals?!
(*Still trying to figure out Ecto on Mac, don’t know whats going on with the stupid formatting*)


3 thoughts on “BigK2012: Week 1 Recap

  1. Whoa great week of training!!! Where do you go swimming? I would love to come and join you one of these days, only if you promise not to laugh at me! πŸ™‚

      • So I went swimming yesterday. While I love the water and worked hard on those board things, I took lot’s of breaks in between. I am very humbled, but I still want to keep at it! During the summer you will have to come out with me to Sly Park. We can run around the lake and then jump into it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

