The B2B Half Mary Challenge (Part 2)

Continued from Part 1

So I finished the SC Half with a 1:57:27.  I wasn’t thrilled, but had pretty much set myself up to believe that a PR wasn’t going to happen this time around.  So, the second half marathon weekend rolls around.  And, having pretty much given up on getting that PR, I allowed myself to stay out until around 12:30am on Sunday morning (race day) and had to get up at 2:45am to make the trek from Monterey to San Francisco in time for the race.  Talk about how to not properly prepare the day/night before the race.

So the time for the race came, and I got to the start line with my friends from school.  And as I toed the line, I had a slight change of heart.  I decided:

I can’t get much worse than the last time I was here, so let’s run the shit out of this race.  Seriously, can’t get any worse.

And so with that in mind, I took off.  Literally took off.

Mile 1: 8:30
Mile 2: 8:23
Mile 3: 8:21

I was cruising and feeling good, and then the hills started…

Mile 4: 9:02
Mile 5: 9:17

And then I got back down to business on the bridge.

Mile 6: 8:37
Mile 7: 8:43
Mile 8: 9:09

And then, this is where things go crazy.  My first set of seriously negative splits ever.  Like ever, and its not like they were even just marginally faster — after having already run 8 miles, I was running…
Mile 9: 8:04
Mile 10: 8:07
Mile 11: 8:07

…yeah, that’s right.  8 MINUTE MILES.  IN THE SECOND HALF THE RACE.

Mile 12: 8:34
Mile 13: 8:18
Las 0.1: 1:00

There were  a couple hills, so I think I finished strong.

But the thing that got me where those 8 minute miles towards the end there — maybe I am faster than I think?!

If you added it up, you already know.  But I cruised through hilly SF to a golden, beautiful PR of 1:51:17.  Yeah, a PR.  In SF.  I owned those hills.

And man, did that feel good.  Redemption success!  I beat my SC Half time from the week before by 6+ minutes.   Maybe this is a sign I shouldn’t taper?  Hah.

Overall, I am very happy I did both races, and might do the same again next year.  Both the SC Half and the US Other Half are smaller, more community-type races.  They’re also more reasonably priced than some of the big-to-do half marathons, like Rock-N-Roll, so its more budget friendly for me as a graduate student.  And while they lack in entertainment, they make up for it with gorgeous views

Anyway, if you can’t tell as a result of this post, I am still proud of this.  And its carrying over into my next training as tomorrow starts my next big challenge.  Beginning with an 8 am date with the pool…

2 thoughts on “The B2B Half Mary Challenge (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

