Taking the Plunge

Daily workout update for #MFM2012:

March 2: 6 miles on cross trainer
March 3: off
March 4: abs/weights
March 5: 6.2 miles on cross trainer; 2.25 miles running sprint intervals
March 6: 12 miles on stationary bike; 7 miles on cross trainer

I’d call the first 6 days a success if I do say so myself.

Haven’t yet completed today’s workout thought I did do a short circuit this morning to get the blood moving – lots going on today!  In fact, I’ve got to hit the road soon!

But first, onto the real reason for this post…

Many of you know that in early February, I decided to do something crazy: with less than three weeks of prep, I took the LSAT with the idea that if I got the right score, I might apply to law school this spring for admittance to the Fall 2012 cohort.  Yes, yes I know this is crazy – I’m already a PhD student.  And no, I wasn’t going to quit that.  I was going to both – and move to DC while I was at it.

But, apparently the stars decided to align themselves in a different way.  One that keeps me here, in Santa Cruz, until at least Fall 2013.  Why only Fall 2013? I’m retaking the LSAT in the fall, to try to improve my score (I still did well, just not well enough for the programs I want to get into) and apply for the Fall 2013 cohort.  So coming to PhD Strides soon: LSAT prep course – w00t (I know you’re stoked as much as I am).

I could say that I’m disappointed not to be starting this fall, but I’m not.  I really am okay and absolutely fine with the outcome – and I’m pretty sure I would have been either way.  And you know what the icing on the cake is?!  The reason I’m really really okay with another year in Santa Cruz?  The racing.  There are so many fabulous races in the Bay Area and California in general, and I just haven’t been able to take advantage of it all yet.  So in that sense, I’m not ready to go.

And, most importantly: staying here, means that last night I signed up for this:

image

Oh yah, that’s right I signed up for my first HALF IRONMAN.

September 9, 2012: Big Kahuna Triathlon.  Its gonna be epic.

Yup, I’m taking the plunge for a 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike ride and 13.1 mile run all in the beautiful town of Santa Cruz.  The best part?  I can roll out of bed the morning of – so no hotels, weird sleeping conditions and when I’m done I just have to convince a friend to drive me and my bike up the hill so I don’t collapse.

My current goal is to finish, and to finish strong.  But my second goal is to be in the top 3 of my age class.  Why, do you ask?  Because the ‘prize’ for being top of the squad?  A totem pole.  Yeah, that’s right…the Hawaiin-esque statute/mini totem pole.

image

Yes, I’ll be honest.  That’s what I’m after.  I mean how cool would it be to put in a corner of your living room or garden, and when people ask you you get to say “Oh, that?  That’s from when I kicked ass at a half ironman and placed in the top 3 of my age class.  Yeah, nbd.”

Ahh..to dream, right?

But in all honesty, I’m a little nervous.  And, looking for training tips/plans.  I have no clue how to train for the half ironman – and when I start, I want to make sure I do it right.

Have you or would you ever run a half ironman or full ironman?  What is that race that you’ve been dreaming about or had your eye on?

3 thoughts on “Taking the Plunge

  1. Congrats on registering for this, I know you have really wanted to do one. I am not a racer so I would have no clue where to start, hopefully there are some good plans out there.

  2. Wait, JD AND PhD? That’s pretty serious stuff! I’m one of those finger-wavers when it comes to collecting degrees just for the sake of it, but I’m sure you’ve considered it seriously so I’ll put my hands behind my back for this one.

    The silver lining to the thwarted plan is that you can take a little more time to evaluate your goals. Not saying they will or need to change, but I find that more time to plan is better when it comes to these things.

    Best of luck, as always!

Leave a Reply

