Cranberry Liqueur

I’m baaaack!

Sorry for the absence, but post-Thanksgiving led right into finals, and its been a whirlwind few weeks since then.  I literally didn’t have a chance to sit down and take a breath until yesterday – and then all I really wanted to do was sleep.

I made it through the fall quarter of my second year of classes!  I came out partially scathed, but I’m alive and ready for a nice long break (filled with lots of paper writing) with adventures taking me through Minnesota, New York and Chicago!  I can’t wait to travel again – its been faaaar too long!

I’m off to the airport here soon to start the first leg of my trip!   So, while I’m flying through the air to the frozen tundra, I thought I’d leave you with this delicious recipe that my friend Lydia and I snagged from our friend Kat, and that we currently have stewing in our cupboards, ready to drink in the new year!

Cranberry Liqueur

  • 16 oz cranberries (we used frozen)
  • 1 1/2 cups vodka (we used ever clear)
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 lime peel
  • 1/4 orange peel
  • 1 stick cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground allspice

 128

Food process the cranberries until its the consistency of grits (small bits).  Then, place in a 1 1/2 liter jar with a screw top lid.  Use a zester to get the zest of a 1/2 lime and 1/4 orange.  add to the cranberries.  Then, add the cinnamon stick and allspice. 

 129

In a sauce pan, lightly boil the sugar and water for about 10 minutes, or until it comes to be a syrupy consistency.  Then add the sugar water (aka simple syrup) to the jar and the vodka.  Then put on the lid and seal the jar.

  131

Then, for the next month, store the jar in the cupboard or on the counter, and make sure to shake up the jar at least 1x per day.  This is important to help infuse the liquor.

After a month, pour the mixture through a cheese cloth into another jar/container.  Then use a funnel to pour the liqueur into a pretty jar.  I haven’t done this yet (ours will be done in January) – but I’ll show you the finished product when we’re done!

This recipe can be easily doubled, tripled or quadrupled, and when put into fancy bottles can make great gifts!  (If ours had been done in time, I would’ve gifted it for Christmas this year – instead, I’ve got another great recipe I’m going to make this week for gifts to share with you soon!)

  133 

 Have you ever made edible or drinkable gifts before?  If so, what?  (Feel free to share recipes!) I’ve made cookies in a jar before, as well at chocolate and mint dipped spoons for hot cocoa – a great fun party favor as well!

One thought on “Cranberry Liqueur

Leave a Reply

