Happy [Belated] Thanksgiving

This year’s Thanksgiving was very similar to last year’s.  It was the return of Orphan Thanksgiving, as paying for two plane tickets home in a three week span just doesn’t make sense – after all, I am a poor graduate student.

I started the day off with a turkey trot in Almaden, where I ran into Alisyn, who was running the 5k.  [Race recap to come, as soon as I get photos.]  It was so great to see you!

Once I got back from the race, it was time to tackle the main ordeal of Thanksgiving.  Meet our 20-pound turkey, Felix (yes, I name my food).

thanksgiving 2011 010

Felix was rubbed with lemon juice on the inside, salt and pepper, and stuffed with parsley, celery and carrots.  On the outside I massaged him with melted vegan earth balance, and seasoned him with salt, pepper, fresh thyme and fresh rosemary.  He browned very nicely in a short 4 1/2 hours.

thanksgiving 2011 013

Me and Felix (and the bourbon we utilized for the evening’s manhattans)

thanksgiving 2011 015

Although I was the chef de jure, I passed off the carving to one of my cohort members.  We utilized this video to get the most meat off of a bird that I think is possible.

thanksgiving 2011 017

Once the turkey was cut, the feast was served.

thanksgiving 2011 020

thanksgiving 2011 019

thanksgiving 2011 023

My plate – plus massive amounts of nibbling as the evening went on.

thanksgiving 2011 025

I also decided to make some non-traditional desserts.  I had vegan lemon bars, vegan chocolate raspberry brownies and a vegan apple raspberry crisp (which somehow eluded all photos…)

thanksgiving 2011 045   thanksgiving 2011 046

Other delicious desserts included pecan pie and  chocolate dipped pecan balls (amazing)

thanksgiving 2011 047        thanksgiving 2011 048

And with dessert served, our evening of good food and debauchery was just getting started.

I’m so thankful for my family, back home, who I sadly had to be without this Thanksgiving.  I’m also thankful for my wonderful friends who I wasn’t able to see.  And I’m extremely thankful for my fantastic cohort members and other friends who made this Thanksgiving one to remember.  It wouldn’t have been the same without you!

How did you celebrate your thanksgiving?  What are you thankful for?

What was your best Friday deal?

4 thoughts on “Happy [Belated] Thanksgiving

  1. Don’t tell my parents (who live 100 meters away), but sometimes I wish I lived in another city so that I could have an orphan Thanksgiving with friends.

  2. It was so awesome to see you again and what a great surprise! Your turkey and fest look amazing!!! You are truly Wonder Women. Age place runner by day, Gourmet chef by night! 😉

  3. Looks like you had a nice time. Yum, the vegan lemon bars, vegan chocolate raspberry brownies, and a vegan apple raspberry crisp sound amazing. Although I didn’t buy anything on Black Friday, I did get to see the tree lighting ceremony at Union Square in San Francisco…that was fun. Happy Belated Thanksgiving 🙂

Leave a Reply

