Burgers + Fries: The Makeover

013

The classic American meal served to millions across the country and world got a makeover today in my kitchen.  It got the vegetarian, cow-dairy-free, gluten free makeover.  And got paired with fries of a completely different nature.  A truly amazing lunch.

I’d been doing some research on vegetarian burgers, and know that I love chickpeas, so I thought combining some recipe ideas and adding a little ‘zest’ of my own might do the trick.  So I give you, Chickpea Burgers + Dijon Zucchini Fries.* (see end of post)

008

Chickpea Burger (Makes 6-7 patties)

  • 1 15 oz can chickpeas, drained, rinsed and patted dry
  • 1 tbsp ground cumin (or more…)
  • 1/2 tbsp ground corriander
  • 1 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • EVOO
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/8 cup dried parsley
  • 2 tbsp goat feta cheese
  • 2 packets instant oatmeal (original) – if you have old fashioned oats on hand (which are better for you, and I didn’t), then use 1/4-1/2 cup.
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • salt & peppa

Chop up the onion, mince the garlic, and saute in 1 tbsp EVOO until soft, and starting to brown.  Then, in a food processor, put chickpeas, cumin, corriander, cayenne pepper, lemon juice, 1/2 tbsp EVOO, onion & garlic, parsley, goat feta cheese, egg, and salt & peppa.  Blend until its mostly smooth – I like to leave some chunk though, for texture.

Pour mixture into a bowl and add 1-2 packets off instant oatmeal.  Mix in until its not quite as sticky.  Then roll dough into 6-7 balls, and flatten into patties.  Place patties on a plate covered in seran wrap, and cover before chilling in the fridge for 15-30 minutes – or until the patties are firm.

005

Then, spray a little EVOO on a griddle/frying pan, and heat.  Once the pan is hot, cook the patties until the bottom side is golden brown – then flip over and do the same.

Serve on a bun (if you like), or alone (like me – yay gluten free) with ketchup + dijon mustard and a side of Dijon Zucchini Fries.  Enjoy.

003

Dijon Zucchini Fries

  • 5-6 small zucchini, sliced long ways (and in half)
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp EVOO
  • 1 tbsp basil
  • salt & peppa

Preheat oven to 450.  Mix the dijon mustard, EVOO, basil and salt & peppa.  Toss the zucchini in the blend and place on a cookie sheet covered in tinfoil (helps with cleanup!).  Once the oven is heated, bake for 20-25 minutes, depending on how hot the oven is and how crispy you like your fries.

Serve with Chickpea Burger.  Enjoy.

010

The burger was delicious.   It was getting a little crumbly (I think I added too many oats – I used the full two packets and probably should’ve stopped at 1 1/2), but it was a great mixture of flavors.  Though, I do love anything that has cumin in it.  And I loved the addition of goat feta.  I might even consider adding more next time to get more flavor…  or how about a goat feta stuffed chickpea burger?  Mmmmm.

I didn’t quite cook the zucchini fries all the way and mine were a bit moist – but I think if I had let them cook for a full 20-25 minutes (I was hungry, and impatient once my burger was done so I took them out early), they would’ve been much better.

012   011   015

Now I’m off to finish up some work, and then go for a bike up the mountain to get in a long swim before heading back to work.  Happy Windsday!

How do you like to change up the classic American meal?

*Since I’ve had some questions on the chickpea burger recipe, I give you full disclosure: the ratios of the staples for the burger — the chickpeas, oats, & egg all came from other recipes I had been looking at.  As for the additional flavors…those come from me.

4 thoughts on “Burgers + Fries: The Makeover

  1. this looks yummy! I’m going to have to make them when I move into my new place (a lot of my stuff is packed). For American classics I like to make Pizza with whole wheat pitas on the grill. It’s my newest obsession!

Leave a Reply

