Something Fishy

026

Not the kind of fishy we got into at Folk & Roots Festival last weekend in Chicago, but…

006

Simple Fish Tacos!

I’ve adapted this recipe from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything.  For all I know, it’s the same recipe I’ve used before (but with more exciting toppers!), but I honestly haven’t looked at it since the first time I made it.  So simple, so delicious – and I’ve now made it with many different kinds of fish: my favorite being a tie between tilapia and Alaskan cod – I go for whichever is a better bang for my buck!

So…fish tacos.  It sounds kind of hard, right?  Wrong!  They’re super easy, and besides prep, literally take like 10 minutes to make!

But those aren’t the only reasons I love these tacos:

1. the recipe uses NO oil.  and they’re still delicious
2. its gluten free and dairy free BY CONSTRUCTION
3. the tacos are still delicious reheated for lunch the next day

So, without further ado:

Fish Tacos (Serves 3-4, 2 tacos/serving)

  • 1 1/2 pounds white fish (I prefer tilapia or Alaskan cod)
  • 1 large white onion, chopped
  • 1-2 jalapenos, chopped
  • cilantro, chopped (for garnish)
  • lime, sliced (for garnish)
  • guacamole (my recipe is forthcoming)
  • cabbage, chopped
  • salsa
  • salt & pepper (to taste, if desired)
  • 6-8 corn tortillas

After chopping up the onion and jalapenos, put 1-2 tablespoons of water in a skillet/sautee pan THAT HAS A COVER (I prefer one that is NOT non-stick).  Then put in the fish, onions and jalapenos, cover and cook on medium for 3-5 minutes.  Then flip the fish, and cook for an additional 3-5 minutes.

While the fish is cooking, heat up a flat pan – I call them ‘tortilla pans.’  But really, any pan that will fit one to two little corn tortillas is great.  Then, once the pan is hot, start warming up the corn tortillas.  Its about 1 minute per side.  Once a tortilla is hot, slip it between the folds of a towel on a plate to keep hot.  Add each additional tortilla as they’re done.

005

One the tortillas are warmed, the fish is cooked (it should just flake apart), start making your fish tacos and lobbing on the toppings/garnish.  My favorite taco includes all the mixin’s: guac, salsa, cabbage, lime juice, cilantro.

Then, enjoy.

007

2 thoughts on “Something Fishy

  1. That looks so good. Is it weird that I’m scared to cook shrimp? I can’t explain it. No idea why.

    Also–are you at all interested in a bay area blogger meetup/party? 🙂 I’m trying to get some people together next month or something. Let me know if you have any interest! have a great night.

Leave a Reply

