Gluten Free Pancakes

Growing up, my father made the best pancakes in the world

P1010696

Since I went dairy free, I haven’t been able to eat dairy for years, I haven’t been able to have them (buttermilk = real bad for the stomach), but my mom and I have been trying alternatives to make my pancakes ‘just as fluffy as the real ones.’

P1010694

You can’t tell from the angle, but they’re pretty fluffy.

 

Since I went gluten free a few weeks ago, I realized that I couldn’t have even the alternative pancakes my mom and I had perfected.  I was really sad about this because it meant I wasn’t going to be able to participate in the family tradition: Saturday morning pancakes post-water skiing.

Well, mom came to the rescue!  She bought me a bag of gluten free pancake mix from Bob’s Red Mill.  That, combined with my buttermilk alternative, created actually fluffy gluten free, dairy free pancakes (they’re not vegan – but flax seed eggs could easily fix that!)

092

Fluffy Gluten Free, Dairy Free Pancakes

  • 1 1/2 cups Bob’s Red Mill GF pancake mix
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup almond milk (or other alternative – I use Blue Diamond unsweetened vanilla)
  • Lemon juice

Pour almond milk (or other alternative milk) into a large glass/bowl (preferably one that you can pour from) and add 1 tsp lemon juice.  Set aside for about ten minutes.

Then mix all ingredients together, until it looks like pancake mix.  (DO NOT OVER MIX)

Then, heat up the griddle/pan, and use a little crisco (yes it is gross, but its makes the pancakes soo much better).   Flick water on it, and if it sizzles or ‘hops’ then the griddle is ready.  Pour pancake batter on in the size of pancakes you want. 

094

Once bubbles start coming showing up (and poppin’) and pancakes starts browning, flip, and cook until golden brown on the other side, remove and serve.

096

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pancakes

  1. My dad’s pancakes rival your dad’s for the best in the world (though they’re not fluffy – they’re dense and moist and chock full of yumminess), and he recently figured out how to make then GF to accommodate some food sensitivities my mom has. If you want the recipe, let me know and I’m happy to pass it along!

Leave a Reply

