How to Carry-It-On

Greetings from Minnesota!  Yesterday I made my way from SJC-PHX-MSP.  It was quite the day of travel, but I’m glad to be back home – I can’t believe its been 7 months already!

While packing for this trip, however, I had quite the challenge.  I’m spending 8 days of ‘play’ in Minnesota (and I get to hang out with the lovely Mellissa, Alexa and Anne), but then I have to actually go into the office of the company I’m working for this summer while in Chicago.  So I I had to figure out how to fit three weeks worth of play & work clothes into a small carry-on, because I’m too cheap to pay to check my bag.

To begin the process, I started with some delicious self-serve Pomegranate Raspberry Sorbet + toppings (gummies, sour gummies, strawberries, mango, mocchi) from Swirl

IMG_0186       IMG_0187

It was just what the packing doctor ordered.  And if you’re ever in SC, I highly recommend it.  Delish.

Then, then I used Tetris status (that’s for you, B), and planned out fun/serious outfits to make it all fit.  Here’s what made it into the suitcase:

IMG_0189   IMG_0190   IMG_0191

Two “practical” tanks, and two fun summer tops, 5 “dressy” t-shirts of different shapes, sizes and colors, three cardigans, and my new favorite shirt (more for fun than work):

IMG_0192

Two dresses, three pairs of shorts, jeans and jean capris.

IMG_0193        IMG_0196       IMG_0195

My 3 pairs of heels (yes, 3 pairs) and belts.

IMG_0206

Not pictured?  Two pairs of dressy flats, my running shoes and clothes (can’t go without), belts, jewelry, toiletries, a straightener, undergarments (duh!), and 3 swimsuits – you never know what the occasion is going to call for Winking smile

I’m also wearing a pair of skinny jeans, another t-shirt and a cardigan and a pair of flats.

So, I’m pretty sure I have enough potential outfits to allow me to wear something “different” almost everyday, all out of a carry-on.  Now that is what I call talent.  Tetris status.

How did I do it?  Well, I did have one trick up my many sleeves.  Since I’m staying with friends/family, I packed the minimum toiletries: so no shampoo/conditioner, lotion, face wash or toothpaste.  I’m just going to use what they have and/or buy travel size if I need it.  So what do I have to say for myself?

Take that airlines who try to charge me too much money for a checked bag (and then gate checked it for me anyways since the flights were too full – if only I could’ve brought full sized shampoos in my carry-on….).

How do you pack for vacations (of any length)?  Do you fit it all in a carry-on?  Or do you usually end up giving in to the airlines?

6 thoughts on “How to Carry-It-On

  1. Woohoo! Look at you go! I’m impressed that you fit it all into your carry on! Totally digging your new fav shirt. So cute. 🙂

    We hardly ever fly and we have no kids so we can fit tons of stuff in our car. I never worry about packing tightly because of that. I always wonder what we’re going to do when we have kids that need to sit in the back seat, haha!

  2. Whoa!!! You do so much better than me at packing. When I go home, it’s a mess. I’ve gotten better at physically packing though! As far as the luggage, I fly Southwest 🙂 No luggage charges, yay! Enjoy home!!!

  3. Oh, I hope you’re having a good time here in in MN!

    You are a skilled packer, and I know because I’m not bad at it myself. For this past trip I took: 4 dresses, 6 tops, 1 skirt, pjs, 3 cardigans, 3 running outfits, running shoes, 2 pairs of flats, 2 pairs of heels, a pair of heeled booties, and toiletries with me in my carry on. The best part was that, like with your experience, the plane was full so the airline checked it anyway free of charge to my final destination.

Leave a Reply

