Quick and Delicious

As I am diving into my low-gluten, pescatarian diet, I am also diving straight into a hectic time: prelims.  Next week I have two huge exams, that require an insane amount of studying (12-14 hours a day, no joke).

So, I headed to the grocery store yesterday in search of some quick and easy vegan/gluten free meals.   I wasn’t really expecting to find anything, but was quite surprised!  New Leaf (a local WF style store) was having a $3.99 sale on frozen Amy’s meals – and there were at least 6 gluten free, vegan options, and I picked up one of each!  I was so excited!

First up tonight?

IMG_0082

Amy’s Thai Stir Fry!

Since I don’t have a microwave, and I didn’t want to wait 45 minutes to heat it up in the oven, I used a stir fry pan, and voila: less than 10 minutes later, dinner was served!

IMG_0085

The verdict?  For a frozen, gluten free, vegan option, it was really good!  I was quite impressed with the flavor palate.  The one thing I was unsure about was the texture – the rice was pretty blah.  But, it didn’t seem too salty (which a lot of frozen meals can), and it was simple to make.  A definite win in my book.  Especially during a time I don’t have a lot of time to cook.

The only downside?  Its normally $5.99.  I would never buy it at the regular price, but on sale?  Sign me up!  $4 meal when you need a quick fix is great in my book.  And the fact that its Amy’s makes me a little more comfortable about the ingredients Smile

Have you tried frozen meals before?  What’s your take?  Are you open to them for a quick fix?

2 thoughts on “Quick and Delicious

  1. I do love frozen meals. I always keep a few on hand because it’s tough to cook healthy all the time in grad school. I love the healthy choice, although I know they aren’t gluten free. My favorite is the butternut squash ravioli. My only thing is that I either add a side of fruit or a salad. It boosts the nutritional content!

Leave a Reply

