Goat Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breast

Per request of Anne, here is the recipe for my easy stuffed chicken breast recipe I made for dinner last night.  I devoured my dinner.  DEVOURED.

This recipe came about when I realized I had some chicken left in my freezer, and a ton of goat cheese from Costco (and we all know that Costco = massive sizes).  So I started thinking about what I could do, and after seeing someone do mozzarella stuffed chicken breast on a TV show (no clue what one…it was just on TV), I was inspired.

And thus, my Goat Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breast was born.  Now, you could get fancy and actually roll them up like you’re apparently supposed to do for stuffed chicken breast, but I’m going to tell you a secret: I’m lazy, and I didn’t have toothpicks.

P1110855

Goat Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breast (Makes about 4 servings)

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • some chevre about 3-4 oz (the soft, spreadable goat cheese)
  • dried rosemary, crushed
  • dried fennel, crushed
  • chopped spinach
  • salt & peppa

Preheat to 350.  Start by cutting the chicken breast in 1/2 on the side, to about 1/2 inch from the other side (the long ways), so that it opened like a flap.  Then, take the goat cheese and put it in another bowl.  Mix in the crushed fennel, rosemary (I crushed them up with my mortar and pestle) and the shredded spinach.  Then spread half of the mixture into each chicken breast, close, and place in an aluminum lined glass dish.

P1110840

(Mmmm.  Raw chicken Winking smile)

Cover with tinfoil and bake for about 45 minutes.

You could be fancy and roll the chicken breast up, sticking with a toothpick, or you could also add oregano/basil.  Both are delicious.  Then, serve it up over brown rice with a side of lemon garlic roasted asparagus (see below).

P1110848

See the bubble of melted goat cheese oozing out?  Nom.

Lemon Garlic Roasted Asparagus (Makes about 4 servings)

  • 1 bunch of asparagus
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1-2 tbsp lemon juice
  • olive oil

Place the asparagus in an aluminum lined glass dish.  drizzle a little olive oil and lemon juice over the asparagus, and roll them until they’re all covered.  Sprinkle the mined garlic cloves onto the dish.  Put in for the last 15 minutes of the chicken, and then leave in for 5 minutes after the chicken is done (turning the oven up to 400).  And voila, instant side dish.

P1110851

This dinner was delicious, easy, and had flavors like I had gotten it at a restaurant.  It only took  a few minutes of my time prep wise, and 45 minutes later it was all done.  Voila.

I realized a few bites in that something was missing though, and what was it?  A little marinara sauce!  The rice wasn’t that flavorful (just brown rice), and the addition of marinara sauce really brought the dish together – delightful Italian flavors blended together.  And it added some pop to the chicken too.

I loved the goat cheese stuffed in the chicken breast, and I’m excited to try a few other variations in the future.  It really added a little ‘pop’ to the dish, and I cannot make any complaints.

I’m off to study for prelims.  Hope you all have a fabulous Saturday!!!

Have any exciting weekend plans?  Mine include a never-ending date with my textbooks and homework – super exciting, I know.

6 thoughts on “Goat Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breast

  1. I don’t like goat cheese all that much (I know! but I’m a prole when it comes to my cheese tastes). However, I think I will try this with mozarella sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

