Mini Gluten Free Banana Bread Muffins

P1110835

Ever since I became a Domestic Goddess, I have been trying to figure out my first move.

Then, I looked in my freezer, saw two over ripe bananas just calling to be made into banana deliciousness, and knew what was on tap: banana bread muffins! 

Fast forward to today, and I got a phone call from my mom informing me that a good family friend just got put on a dairy free, egg free, gluten free, nut free diet and she had no idea where to start.  So I started thinking about all the recipes I had she could eat, and realized I had no sweet or desserts that were gluten free.  I decided that this needed to change immediately.  And thus, the Mini Gluten Free Banana Bread Muffins were born.

Lucky for me, I keep gluten free flour on hand (after living with one of my really good friends who is celiac back in Chicago, it’s the least I can do), which I keep in this tin with a recipe for gluten free bread on the lid.  I love these tins because the lids are acrylic and I can write on them with white erase markers – so I can change them later on.

P1110814

Once I pulled out my GF flour and defrosted the bananas, I started cookin’!

First, I mixed the bananas, sugar, stevia, brown sugar, Earth Balance in the KitchenAid.

P1110805    P1110806

Then added in the GF flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt.

P1110812    P1110819

And then plopped the dough into a lightly greased muffin tin (filling them about 2/3 of the way full).

P1110820

Baked em for 8-10 minutes, or until the edges started to get golden brown, then removed, and set on a plate to cool.  Oh, and then I started eatin’ em with a smear of Earth Balance.

P1110829    P1110830

Mini Gluten Free Banana Bread Muffins

  • 2 cups Bob’s Mill GF flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 4 1/2 tbsp stevia
  • 1 1/2 tbsp packed brown sugar
  • 2 large over ripe bananas
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup soft Earth Balance
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat oven to 350.  Lightly grease muffin tins with Earth Balance/oil or line muffin tin with muffin holders. 

Mix the bananas, sugar, stevia, brown sugar, and softened Garden Balance in the KitchenAid, then added the GF flour, cinnamon, nutmeg, baking soda and salt.  And mixed until it was a muffin/doughy texture.

Then I filled my lightly greased muffin tins about 2/3 of the way, and baked the muffins for 8-10 minutes, or until the edges started to turn golden brown.  I removed, and started poppin’ in my mouth Winking smile

P1110837

So, how were these little gluten-free vegan bites?  Well I’m not gonna lie and tell you I was excited to try them – I know that gluten-free can go wrong, very, very wrong.  But these little puppies?  They went very, very good.  They were light, fluffy, flavorful, and melted in my mouth.  I couldn’t even tell they were gluten free!

This recipe is DEFINITELY going on the list I’m giving to our family friend to make.  And I hope they brighten her outlook on at least 12 weeks on a crazy, insane diet.

P1110839

Are you on a special diet?  What can/can’t you eat?  How do you manage when you go out and about?

Is there any recipe you would like to see veganized or gluten-freeized on the blog?  I can’t make any promises, but I can promise I will try if I can  Smile

One thought on “Mini Gluten Free Banana Bread Muffins

  1. Yummy! I am so excited to try these. I love all of the photos you have. 🙂 As a vegan, I sometimes have a hard time when I go out. I imagine those who can’t have gluten face similar problems. It’s great that more restaurants are beginning to offer more detailed information for people following special diets. If I could think of one recipe I’d looove to see veganized, it’d be dessert crepes. I used to love them in my pre-vegan days. Thin pancake with chocolate hazelnut spread with fresh fruit and whipped cream. Now I need to find a vegan version. Thanks for sharing this banana bread muffin recipe. I’m, definitely going to try it.

Leave a Reply

