I Wanna Be A Domestic Goddess

Sooooo freakin’ baaaaaad.  (Okay So I know that’s not the right song, but I like to pretend.)

Speaking of being a domestic goddess, you should all check out Rebecca at her blog IWBADG.  I love her blog.

Moving on…if you follow me on twitter, you know that I made a big money purchase yesterday.

I’m normally very, very, very responsible with my money.  And allot a budget for each month – I’m a grad student after all.  But, there was one purchase I have been waiting and wanting to make.  In fact I would say that every time I walk into a store with kitchen appliances that I lusted after this one.  I would usually stand in front of it and stare, until a sale’s associate would come and ask me if they could help me, and then I would tell them, “No…I’m just dreaming.”  And then I’d walk away.

But yesterday finally – FINALLY – the stars aligned.  $60 off sale + 30% off coupon + rebate for a free accessory?  Ummmm.  Sold.  What was this big, big purchase?

If you follow me (@PhDStrides) you know.  If not?  Its large, its comes in like 25 colors, and although I wanted Willow Blue or Green Apple, I decided that to ensure it matches any future kitchens I have I should get it in Metallic Chrome.  It comes with a 325W motor, its made here in the US of A and it can whirrrrrrrrrrr like no food processor ever could (or did, r.i.p. little food processor).

IMAG0338

Why, it’s the KitchenAid Artisan Mixer.  HEART.

IMAG0337

I know its one of those things most people wait to get until they’re getting married or something, and its one of the ‘big ticket’ gifts, but frankly I wanted one now.  And I don’t want to wait until I’m ready to get married for one.  Ergo, I think they should have an “I’m getting my PhD Registry.”  Seriously.  Someone should get on that.

IMAG0340              IMAG0341

Cannot wait to use it!

What kitchen appliance have you been lusting after?  What would be the first thing you would make with it once you got it?  I honestly can’t decide.  I think banana bread is on the list, chocolate chip cookies, brownies, zucchini bread, carrot cake (vegan!)….soooo excited.  though, I’m going to have to do a giveaway if I make all these sweets, so I should probably think of some savory recipes, too Winking smile

10 thoughts on “I Wanna Be A Domestic Goddess

  1. YAY!!! Welcome to the Kitchen Aid Mixer Club! It will change your life. It will change your buttercream frosting. You will wonder how you ever lived without it.

    The Metallic Chrome is very classy. I went with the Green Apple. I was in the middle of an obsession with Mad Men at the time. And thought that Green Apple had a 60s retro vibe.

    Have so much fun with it!!!

  2. I’ve been drooling over the Artisan since I was old enough to use my parents and fall in love with the “we’ve had this since we got married” story. By god I will get one at my wedding and it has to be yellow. I will build my kitchen AROUND it.

    Have fun with your new toy! You should make meringues mmmm.

Leave a Reply

