Quinoa Bread

One of my favorite Christmas gifts from my mom & dad in 2010 was Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day.  Over Christmas, my mom and I baked the Quinoa Bread recipe from it, and I absolutely loved the bread.  So, I decided to make it again, for sandwiches this week!  I decided I missed sandwiches, but that I wanted to make them with my own bread after reading all the bread making adventures of Kath and their GH bakery.

So, bake bread is what I did on Sunday (in addition to studying).

This quinoa bread involves white flour, whole wheat flour and a cup of WHOLE quinoa.  So you get little quinoa grain chunks throughout.  I love the crunchy bits in every bite Smile

  P1110709    P1110711P1110712

After mixing the dough (flours, quinoa, yeast, salt and water), I let it sit on the counter for two hours in a non-sealed, but covered container.  Then I dusted the top of the dough with flour, and cut out about a 1/4 of the dough, and with a little dusting of flour, folded it under into a nice oval shape, and let it sit on parchment paper for about 45 minutes to rise.  Then, 30 minutes before baking, I turn the oven on (with my bread stone & tray underneath it).

Right before baking, I lightly brush the dough with water and slice the top.

P1110718

Then I poured a cup of water into the tray, and slid the dough (with the parchment paper) onto the bread stone, and baked for 30 minutes.

About 20 minutes in, I took the parchment paper out from underneath the dough, to help the bottom finish baking.  And then I removed it, and voila.  Fresh quinoa bread:

  P1110720    P1110722P1110725

Nom.  Can’t wait for lunches this week Smile

Have you made your own bread?  Would you if it were super simple?  I never thought I would, but I’ve found a series of recipes (from Healthy Bread in Five Minutes a Day, which I am telling you about because of my love for it – not by request of authors/another program — and other sources, such as Mark Bittman’s column in the NY Times) that have made it super easy and fun. 

I have hopes of trying my own recipe of rosemary olive bread in the future, using the base bread recipe provided in the book – or perhaps this quinoa bread recipe.  And, honestly, there is nothing quite like the smell of fresh bread baking.  Mmm.  Mmm.  Good.

5 thoughts on “Quinoa Bread

  1. Your bread looks amazing! Definitely looks like a pro made it 🙂

    I think I need to track down that book since lately I’ve started playing around with yeast doughs and I would love to bake my own bread.

  2. Pingback: Eat on the Run » Blog Archive » Weekend Away!

Leave a Reply

