And I’m Feelin’ Good

If you follow me on Twitter (@PhDStrides) you know that I suffered from a pretty horrific bout of food poisoning on Sunday night after eating at a delicious tapas restaurant in San Francisco.

image

While I’d love to say it was worth it, it definitely was not.  It took everything out of me, and I took a 6 hour nap yesterday afternoon.

image

That being said, I am finally feeling better.  Thank you so much to all of you who have well sent me love and support as I started the third quarter on a not-so-good foot.  I appreciated it all more than I can say!

But last night I finally redeemed myself after eating nothing but chicken noodle soup, bananas, applesauce and saltines since Sunday afternoon.  I cooked an old favorite of mine, something that I haven’t made in far too long.

Lemon Pepper Tilapia over quinoa with Marinara sauce and a side of roasted broccoli (and the remainder of the Fennel and Apple Salad with Lemon Zest and Thyme that I made with Mr. K on Saturday).

P1110686

(Note the placemat – I loved it immediately because of the orange.)

P1110687   P1110688   P1110689

I love the quinoa, tilapia and broccoli meal because it literally takes less than 20 minutes to make.  I use an olive oil spray to pan fry a tilapia filet that I’ve seasoned with Mrs. Dash’s Lemon Pepper.  Mrs. Dash I my favorite kind as there is NO salt added.  LOVE. 

Then the quinoa I cook in my rice cooker.  Add quinoa, water, press GO (it doesn’t take long on the stove/microwave either).  I used some of Newman’s Own Cabernet Marinara sauce which I received through Foodbuzz Tastemaker’s Program to try when I was picked from a number of bloggers to do My First Vlog, a recipe inspired by Newman’s Own products. 

And the roasted broccoli is coated with olive oil and salt & pepper, and popped in the oven at 450 for 10-15 minutes.  Simple, and delicious.

P1110690

It was a satisfying meal, healthy, tasty, and after eating it, I finally felt full enough and strong enough to tackle a workout tomorrow.  And with my 3W2HM plan having been derailed since Sunday’s food poisoning, I need to get in a few quality workouts before my planned 11 miler on Friday afternoon/Saturday morning.  (Still debating if this is a good idea, as the HM is a week and 1/2 away).

What is the closest you’ve done a long run to the actual event?  How did you fare – was it a good or bad idea?  With the half marathon only 12 days away on April 10th, I’m a little nervous about doing an 11 miler this weekend.  Then again, I haven’t been overtraining, so I feel as though it won’t hinder me too much next week, especially if I don’t overdo the training.  Thoughts?!

Also: if you’re running the Santa Cruz Half Marathon on April 10th, let me know – I’d love to get together!  E-mail me at phdstrides@gmail.com

And because I am seriously obsessed with this placemat (perhaps more so than the last ones):

P1110691

5 thoughts on “And I’m Feelin’ Good

  1. birds flying high? sun in the sky? breeze drifting on by? glad you are feeling better. after all, it is a new dawn and a new day.

  2. Poor you! I’m glad you’re finally feeling better!

    I’ve run a 12 miler a week before a half and didn’t have any difficulties during the race (only did 2 very short gentle runs during the week in between).

Leave a Reply

