Cooking with Mr. K

For dinner on Saturday night, Mr. K and I tried out two recipes from The Kitchn and Griggstown.

P1110602

Mr. K prepared the side dish, Apple & Fennel Salad with Lemon Zest & Thyme.

P1110604   P1110605   P1110606

He julienned the fennel and two gala apples, and prepped the thyme, lemon zest, lemon juice, and jalapenos. Then he tossed it all, and the salads were finished!

   P1110611  P1110617P1110616

For the main course, we made Quick Salmon and Quinoa with Cilantro Vinaigrette.  While the original recipe called for couscous, since I had none on hand, I decided quinoa would be just as good.

I seasoned the salmon with the sumac and salt & pepper, and chopped the scallions and cilantro, and juiced the lemon for the cilantro vinaigrette.  After pan frying the salmon for about 10 minutes, mixing the vinaigrette and pressing ‘cook’ on the rice cooker for the quinoa, dinner was prepped.

               P1110608      P1110618P1110620 
P1110622   P1110625   P1110624

The meal was good – not great, but good.  I really enjoyed the salmon and quinoa with the cilantro vinaigrette.  The mixture of flavors (the sumac, scallions, cilantro, lemon) was incredible, and paired quite well with the salmon.  And the quinoa just kind of soaked all the flavors up – a definite hit.

The fennel and apple salad, we both agreed, left much to be desired.  We thought it was lacking some sort of additional seasoning, but I’m not quite sure what would have spruced it up.  The apples and fennel paired well together, but it just needed a little va-va-voom, I think.

We then got ready for dessert, and then drinks with a few people from my PhD cohort. 

P1110636 - Copy

I like playing dress up Smile  I may be 24, but I’m a six year old at heart.

n13912525_31096484_35

Me and my bestie growing up.  We were quite the fashionistas, wouldn’t you say?! 

And dessert was frozen yogurt/sorbet from Swirl.  I love self-serve yogurt/sorbet places.  Mmm mmm good. 

IMAG0269

I had very berry sorbet with coconut, sprinkles, oreos (they’re dairy free – freaky, I know), strawberries and gummies.  Delish!

What’s your favorite way to eat icecream/frozen yogurt/sorbet?  I love mine with chocolate syrup, gummies or fruit.  Gummies are my favorite, but I generally opt for fruit…because I know its better for me.

2 thoughts on “Cooking with Mr. K

  1. I am in dire need of a visit to the local self-serve yogurt place. My favorite is a simple yogurt combo (usually chocolate and vanilla swirl) with a combo of chocolate and fruit toppings… and sometimes some cereal thrown in for good measure.

Leave a Reply

