Cinnfully Delicious: Orange Style

A few weeks ago I made vegan cinnamon rolls that were, as I dubbed them, Cinnfully Delicious.  Since I had bragged about them to Mr. K, I thought it would be fun to make them again during his visit.

But, Mr. K had bigger and better ideas.  He had seen Orange Cup Cinnamon Rolls at Gourmet Mom on the Go.  As soon as I saw them, I knew I wanted to try it and that the addition of a little orange zest/flavor to the rolls would be incredible.  So, what did we do?  we did a hybrid of the Orange Cup Cinnamon Rolls, taking the idea to create cinnamon rolls in orange cups, but paired it with my homemade cinnamon roll recipe.

I made the dough, filling and rolled it.

         P1110643       P1110644

And Mr. K cut and emptied out the orange cups.

P1110650

We then filled the orange cups with the cinnamon rolls (some hard larger rolls than others).

  P1110655     P1110657

After baking them (we had to bake some of them twice because we didn’t let them cook long enough – the orange peel adds quite a bit of baking time), we got this:

P1110664

You can’t see the orange peel there, but trust me, it is…

P1110668

 P1110672  P1110670  P1110671

They may not look perfect, but I loved the way they looked – and I loved the flavor that the bottom of the rolls picked up from the orange.  Added an awesome flavor.  Mr. K and I discussed that we might like to try adding the orange zest to the icing (as suggested by the Orange Cup recipe), and we even thought that rolling a little orange zest into the dough, or a little orange juice into the filling would be delicious as well.

P1110674

Delish.  I dare you – go try ‘em.  You won’t regret it.

What’s your favorite breakfast dish?  Mine is still pancakes, but cinnamon rolls are starting to grow on me… a lot.  I just know that they’re not good to eat on a regular basis, partially due to sugar amount, partially due to the fact they have no protein in them…  I also love egg dishes…as french toast.  Okay, actually, I just love breakfast.

6 thoughts on “Cinnfully Delicious: Orange Style

  1. Oh my goodness… you just stole my heart. Yum!!! A couple of weeks ago a blogger posted some really delicious-looking cinnamon rolls and for a while after I was craving them. You just re-ignited my craving. The orange cups are such a cute and clever idea.

    So I moved to Cupertino. Unfortunately not closer to you but if you’re ever in Palo Alto area we should get together. And I’ll contact you next time I’m in Santa Cruz. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

