My First Vlog

As a part of the Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program, I was given the opportunity to create a unique recipe using Newman’s Own products.  My creation was a Vegan Italian Sausage Pizza using Newman’s Own Roasted Garlic Marinara Sauce. 

As a part of the Tastemaker Program, Newman’s Own provided me with a Flip HD video camera and a wide array of products (marinara sauces & salad dressings) to create my recipe video with their products and try new products.

This recipe can be made in less than 20 minutes, and is delicious for all parties: vegans, meat lovers, your friend who is allergic to dairy (that would be me Winking smile), etc.  So here it is, in all its glory.  Its taken me far too long do to (editing videos is hard business), and I’ve discovered how super awkward I am on video, but here it is in all its glory.

Vegan Italian Sausage Pizza w/ Newman’s Own Roasted Garlic Marinara

 

And, if you’d like the whole recipe, here is the recipe:

Vegan Italian Sausage Pizza*

  • Whole wheat pizza dough (I got my from Trader Joe’s)
  • Flour for dusting on the dough
  • Chopped fresh basil (about a 1/3 cup)
  • Minced garlic (a few tbsp)
  • Chopped white onion (about 1/3-1/2)
  • Chopped spinach (about a cup)
  • Chopped vegan italian sausage (I got mine from Whole Paycheck)
  • 1 sliced tomato (1 large)
  • Chopped green pepper (1/2)
  • 1 cup vegan cheese (I use Daiya, which I got at Whole Paycheck)
  • Newman’s Own Roasted Garlic Marinara sauce

Preheat oven to 350.  Roll or stretch out the pizza dough to your desired thickness (I like mine to be about 1/4-1/2 inch thick).  Layer on the marinara sauce – as much as you like Smile  Add the sliced tomatoes, and you preferred ratio of other toppings (basil, garlic, onion, spinach, tomato, green pepper and vegan italian sausage).  DO NOT PUT ON THE ‘CHEESE’ YET!

Then, put the pizza into the oven for 7-8 minutes.  After the buzzer sounds, put on the vegan cheese, and put the pizza back in the oven for 3-4 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown and the ‘cheese’ is melted.

Take it out of the oven, let it cool, cut it, and enjoy.

I chose the Newman’s Own Roasted Garlic Marinara Sauce because I love garlic, but really, any of their pasta sauces would do, depending on their preferences.  I also like the fairly simple ingredient list, and that I could use the leftovers on pasta later in the week – 1 sauce, 2 dishes.

I seriously love this pizza.  While the vegan cheese doesn’t have the same texture as regular cheese, it still tasted incredible and is a great way for me to get my pizza fix.  I have also made it for a PhD cohort get together, and even the meat eaters agreed it was a delicious pizza, and though they prefer real cheese (because real is usually better), they would never turn a pizza like this down, and thought it was an awesome alternative for non-dairy eaters and vegans.

P.S. If you like your pizza to have a hard crust, try putting a tray of icecubes on the rack below the pizza when you put it into the oven.  Just a trick one of my cohort’s shared with me when I made the pizza.

What do you think of vlogs?  Do you like them, or not?  I don’t really like them, I feel like I’m really awkward, but I’m not quite sure how I can make mine better – suggestions/comments/critiques?  If you don’t want to post them in the comments, please email me at phdstrides@gmail.com, I would LOVE to get some feedback.

*I want to thank Newman’s Own & Foodbuzz Tastemaker Program for providing me with the products and video camera, and just make to fully disclose to you all that they provided me with the tools to make this video and part of the recipe.  (You know, so I don’t get the FTC coming after me… Winking smile)

2 thoughts on “My First Vlog

  1. Hey Elise! Great video! You’ve inspired to make pizza this weekend. Thanks for the tip about the vegan cheese… I’ve never worked with it before.

Leave a Reply

