Cinnfully Delicious

Yesterday for a PhD cohort potluck, I made a vegan dessert – that was almost gone before I got to try it!  I had been hoping to take home leftovers, but to no avail.  What was this sinfully delicious dessert?

P1110474

Vegan Cinnamon Rolls.

P1110416

I started first by making the dough.  Dissolving & foaming the active dry yeast in warm unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and then stirring in the melted vegan butter, white sugar, unsweetened apple sauce (in lieu of oil) and salt.

P1110411 P1110419 P1110423

I then added flour – 3/4 white and 1/4 whole wheat.  I like to try to sneak a little ‘health’ in there, if you know what I mean Winking smile And then, I kneaded the dough before putting it in a lightly vegan butter greased bowl, where I coated the outside of it, before covering to let it rise for about an hour.

P1110433 P1110438 P1110441

One the dough I had risen, I took it out, punched it on a floured surface, and rolled it out.  Then I prepared the filling (vegan butter, cinnamon & brown sugar)and spread it on the dough.

P1110442 P1110443 P1110444P1110446

The I rolled it (the long ways) and sliced it up…

P1110458

Then they are set aside to rise again, before baking for 15 minutes.

P1110457 P1110461

^Before Baking                                                           ^After Baking

Then I mixed the powdered sugar and water, to drizzle over the cinnamon rolls.

P1110459 P1110463 P1110469

P1110472

Then I let them cool, and before I knew it: no more cinnamon rolls.

In my personal opinion, that means they were a hit Winking smile These were some of the comments:

“Don’t ask me how many cinnamon rolls I ate.  I’m not telling you.”

“Did you really make these?””

“They’re soo fluffy and delicious!”

Yup, I’d say that’s a success!  And in my personal opinion, I was surprised and quite happy with the fluffiness of the cinnamon rolls for almond milk, vegan butter & applesauce, and enjoyed the fact I couldn’t tell I had put whole wheat flour in it (and no one else was the wiser Winking smile).  This is definitely on my “to make for Mr. K when he visits in March” list!  And for any brunches I attend in the future.

Cinnfully Delicious Cinnamon Rolls
(Makes about 12 rolls)

Dough

  • 3 cups white flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • Just under 1 cup* unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 packet active dry yeast
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/3 cup melted Earth Balance (it works the best for baking, in my opinion!)
  • 1 tsp of salt (I usually add a little less – and hardly ever actually measure salt, I just put a bit in the palm of my hand)

Filling

  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup soft Earth Balance

Icing

  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups icing sugar (depending on how much you like your icing)
  • 2-3 tbsp water (maybe a little more)

*I used just under a cup of almond milk (after thinking about it) because almond milk is a little thinner than regular milk or soy milk — or it has a more ‘thinning’ feature — and it tends to make doughs runnier/stickier.  It wasn’t much less, but you get the idea 🙂

Dough.  Warm up the almond milk to just above room temperature, put it in a large mixing bowl and pour the packet of dry yeast into it, stirring so it dissolves.  Set aside for about 5 minutes, or until little foam bubbles appear on the surface.  Then add the white sugar, applesauce, melted vegan butter, & salt.  Stir until well mixed, then add the flour, about 1/2 cup at a time.  Then, lightly flour a surface, and knead the bread until it looks smooth (only a few minutes).  If the dough is sticky, you can dust it with flour, adding no more than a tsp or two at a time.  Then, lightly grease a second bowl with the vegan butter, and put the kneaded dough ball in it, turning it so that all sides are ‘greased.’  Then cover it and set aside for 45 minutes-an hour, or until the dough ball has about doubled in size.

Then, lightly flour a large surface, and roll the dough out into a rectangular shape, or until the dough is about 1/4 inch thick (you want it about 2x as log as it is wide).

Filling.  Then, mix the brown sugar, cinnamon & soft (spreadable) vegan butter together in a separate bowl (you can use the greased bowl the dough was in to save dishes), and spread it onto the dough, making sure to cover the entire surface.  Then start rolling on the long side (you want a long, ‘skinny’ log).  Once rolled, start slicing the buns, about 1 1/2- 1 3/4 inches thick (you should get about 12 rolls).  And place them, evenly spaced, in a 9×13 inch metal baking pan that has been lightly greased (with vegan butter).

Turn on the oven to 400.  Cover and set the rolls aside for another 30-45 minutes, or until the rolls have almost doubled in size.  Once they’ve doubled, pop them into the preheated oven for about 15 minutes, or until the tops have started to turn golden brown.

Icing.  Once the rolls are done, prepare the icing while they’re still hot.  Mix the icing with about 2 tbsp of water.  You may need to add more water (or more powdered sugar), depending on the consistency: you want it to be thick, but also be runny enough to drizzle over the cinnamon rolls.  Then, drizzle the icing over the cinnamon rolls.   (You can always make more to dip the rolls into later…)

Then, let them cook a little bit and indulge.

P1110473

What is your favorite brunch/dessert food? Mine currently is cinnamon rolls…I want more.  But I also love coffee cake, and the breakfast casserole Mr. K and I made over V-day Weekend, and pancakes & waffles…okay I just love sweet breakfast food (case in point: yesterday’s Pumpkin Pie Protein Quinoa?!).  Zomg, speaking of pancakes….those might be on the menu during spring break.

10 thoughts on “Cinnfully Delicious

  1. WOW! They look amazing!! Seriously wish I could grab one right outta my computer screen! I must make these soon 🙂

    • i forgot that we used to have cinnamon rolls for easter as well! it used to be my favorite part — when my great aunt would come she ALWAYS came with cinnamon rolls…Mmm, to be 6 again.

Leave a Reply

