Sugar, Spice & Everything Nice

I started my day off today right: with a 3 mile run.  Something I’ve been trying to get back into the habit of doing (I have a half marathon coming up in April, after all).  But, due to sickness & school work, my running has been taking a back seat.  And I have a confession to make:

Its only February, and I’ve already fallen off the bandwagon with my original Raceolution.  However, I am giving myself a break and changing my 2011 Raceolution to be 12 races in 12 months, meaning I can still do it but I just need to have at least one (maybe two) months with more than one race.  This will allow me to have life happen and not stress too much about it.

That being said, I still went on to run 6 miles last week (almost the length of the 10k I missed), and managed to faceplant at mile 5.99 – a sign I probably should not have run the 6 miles.  Le sigh.

image

Moving on.  Post run breakfast was a champion.  I was inspired by Julia’s breakfast, and made Pumpkin Pie Protein Quinoa!

P1110404

Before I left on my run, I threw quinoa and half water, half vanilla almond milk into my rice cooker & turned it on.  Then I hit the pavement, to come home to this:

P1110397

Quinoa read to be mixed with delicious toppings and devoured!

P1110405   P1110406   P1110410

Pumpkin Pie Protein Quinoa

  • 1/4 cup dry quinoa (cooked)
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup soy yogurt (I use unsweetened and add stevia)
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice mix (but feel free to add more/less)
  • 1/4 cup Diamond Breeze unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • Stevia or sugar, to taste (I use one packet of stevia)

Throw quinoa, water & almond milk into the rice cooker and let the rice cooker do its magic (I usually prepare a cup of quinoa at a time – so a cup of quinoa would call for 1 cup water & 1 cup almond milk).  Take out your portion (about a 1/4 of the quinoa) and add the pumpkin, soy yogurt, pumpkin pie spice mix & stevia/sugar.  Mix up, and enjoy!

P1110408

The best part about this meal?  It packs about 12 grams of protein, with out any added protein powders.  And it tastes like pumpkin heaven (yes I’ve been hoarding canned pumpkin all winter – I’m one of those Winking smile).

What is your favorite breakfast grain – and what do you like to mix it with?  Mine is usually oatmeal of some sort – but I specifically LOVE steel cut oat oatmeal – and I will mix it with almost anything.  From dried fruit & yogurt to pumpkin, to peanut butter to just plain with almond milk & added flax seed.  I’m open to new ideas as well…mmm. 

One thought on “Sugar, Spice & Everything Nice

Leave a Reply

