Running Dress-Up

Since I’m going ahead full force with my 12 races in 12 months for 2011, most of which will be running, I thought I’d take the time to share with you my favorite running gear.  Its not like I’ve tried everything there is out there (and I’m always looking for suggestions/upgrades/recommendations), but this is what works for me thus far (especially on my super awesome graduate student budget!).

For starters, shoes.  I swear by two different pairs of shoes, depending on the distance.  For shorter distances I don Brooks Addiction. 

 brooks-addiction-womens-running-shoes-21225726

source: www.runningshoeswizard.com

For my longer distances, I look to Mizuno’s Wave Precision.

Mizuno-Wave-Precision-10-Womens

source: www.activegearreview.com 

I choose these two shoes because I pronate a lot (I tore my acl, mcl and cartilage in my right knee when I was 16 due to over-pronation, rotation and lack of stability muscle strength in my leg while playing soccer), and these shoes offer the support (non-collapsing arch) I need when I run.  I also have orthotics I put in my shoes for additional support, but that is just an extra precaution I take because I would like to keep my knee – two surgeries before 21 is enough for me 😉

 

For socks I swear by Smartwool’s lightweight running socks for women.  I own five or six pairs, and need like five or six more.  They’re seriously incredible, and they’re the only socks I have not gotten blisters from.  Absolutely incredible.  I will say though, that once they start getting loose, i.e. the elastic starts wearing out, you need to replace them or you may start getting massive arch blisters.

smartwool-running-no-show-socks-84b1

source: www.artistansocks.com

Next, my shorts/running compression tights.  I’m normally not a specific brand girl, but my favorite pairs of running shorts and running compression tights have been Asics.  For the marathon I wore my *new* orange Asics running shorts, which I love for the three mesh pockets they have in the back, and my other pair of Asics are blue with side pockets and a hidden key pocket.  For me, and my need to fuel up on runs longer than 8 miles, pockets are very very necessary.

 035

The only running compression tights I have tried have been the Asics Inner Muscle Knee tights, which are advertised as helping keep women’s hips and knees in alignment during running.  I can’t say that I notice they’re helping me, but I love the way they feel (its almost like wearing nothing 😉 ), and the way I run in them – so they must be doing something for me!

 645

source: www.sportscrazyforum.com

As for my sports bras, I used to swear by the Champion Maximum Control Powerback Underwire Sports Bra, but once I started running longer than 10-12 miles, I started getting chaffing (really bad chaffing) in between the ladies.  So, after Julia recommended Moving Comfort sports bras, I indulged two days before the marathon (yes I wore something for the first time on Marathon day) and bought the Moving Comfort Helena Bra. 

0676.moving-comfort-helena-sports-bra

source: www.buzz.snow.com

Verdict?! 

Best.Purchase.I.May.Have.Ever.Made.Period.

I ran 26.2 miles in a sports bra that had never been tried out, washed or even really researched about, and I had no chaffing at all.  It was even raining so chaffing would’ve been more likely than normal!  And, I have been wearing it on all my runs since, and the chaffing as continued to stay away.  Unless I ever find a better sports bra (I’m thinking I probably won’t), this is going to be my go-to for running.  If only I had the disposable income to start investing in more…

Hey Moving Comfort want to sponsor me? 😉

And finally my tops.  I will be the first to admit: For the most part, I don’t buy running/sports shirts.  I usually just wear t-shirts/shirts from races that I’m now starting to collect.  The only things I have invested in are a few dry-fit long sleeve shirts (I have one Asics and one Brooks for night time running – I’m really indifferent to brand because they’re usually a top layer) as those don’t seem to come from races very often.  I wear shirts like this one:

IMAG0415-300x179

The only other running shirt I’ve purchased ever, I think, is the Nike Women’s Marathon shirt I ran to run those 26.2 miles in when I realized I had only grabbed a tank and long sleeve shirt…  My reasoning?   I don’t need to look cute when I can look like a running race junkie – and its not like I need to impress anyone, I’ve already got Mr. K fooled 😉

 039

What are you go-to clothes for running or working out?  Do you swear by specific brands for certain items? 

10 thoughts on “Running Dress-Up

  1. I am extremely brand loyal when it comes to my workout clothes…I only wear Under Armour shirts because they are not too tight and breathe really well…and I only wear Asics socks, etc.

    I also would never wear another sports bra that wasn’t by Moving Comfort. They have changed my life.

  2. I second the Smartwool sock recommendation. I have a few different thicknesses for warmer/colder weather, but they’re not completely blister-proof. I had one race weekend last year with some heavy trail running and I had a couple big blisters at the end. Also, application of Body Glide in key areas is my preferred way to beat chafing. Won’t leave for a long run without it.

Leave a Reply

