Welcoming 2010…with Waffles

I’m waaay late in jumping on the NYE celebration bandwagon, but I did celebrate, in style, with my friends @ Mr. K’s apartment in the chi.

The theme of the night was “your inner fancy rockstar.”  Why?!  Why because we played the best game ever, of course…

039

Rockband!  Projected onto a sheet on the wall…what you would expect?!  Nothing less, obviously 🙂

The party involved lots of delicious food prepared (and some just nicely displayed) by Mr. K and myself

003 004

Artisan cheeses & crackers.

005011

An array of crackers, pita chips, salsa and homemade red pepper hummus, guacamole & pico de gallo.

007 010 

And the homemade misfortune & fortune cookies.  The greenish-black ones were misfortunes (they reminded me of the wicked witch of the west) and the normal looking (dairy free) cookies were the fortunes :)  They were hard, painful (we had to touch them fresh out of the oven) and time consuming to make – but Mr. K and I had a wonderful time making them!

And, of course, there was some alcohol indulged in, that may or may not have played a part in these…

019 022 026 031  034 041

P.S. I have the best Chicago friends in the world.

 

And, though I unfortunately do not have any photos…around 12:30-1am, we begin the indulgence in waffles.  Waffles with blueberries, whip cream, caramel sauce, chocolate, raspberries, sugared strawberries, butter, soy butter….the list goes on.  They were dairy-free waffles that hit the spot – I believe every NYE party should end with waffles.  Best.Idea.Ever.  Thank you Liz & Kolak!

What did you do for NYE?  How did you ring in the NYE?!  I was glad we stayed in, because it saved money, and I actually got to talk, converse and hang out with my friends, versus trying to yell at one another in an over priced bar where I would never be able to get my money’s worth of drinks for an all-inclusive.  I’m a cheap date, what can I say 😉

2 thoughts on “Welcoming 2010…with Waffles

  1. Wow, rockband looks like so much fun. And the waffles sound amazing. We just stayed in and had a quiet evening because my in-laws had just left so we were pooped. Happy New Year! Wish you a fab 2011 🙂

Leave a Reply

