My Raceolution.

First off, Happy 2011!  I know I’m a little late, but bear with me.  Right now I’m on the road to Colorado, but I thought I’d share a little bit of my new years resolution raceolution with you all.

 

When the going gets tough, the tough get going.

I’ve heard that phrase countless times over the years, though not since I’ve left the Midwest.  Although, I’ve been having a lot of those moments.  We had a hailstorm a while back in California, and it was the first time a number of people had seen hail, making it quite the novelty.  I, on the other hand, come from the land of strange weather, where if it doesn’t hail at least 2-3 times a year, its odd.

Regardless, the phrase has stuck with me throughout my life, and it hasn’t been an easy start to the PhD program thus far.  Math camp & the first quarter had its high points, and low points, and I’ve realized I need a much more structured schedule.  I’ve also been struggling with keeping up with regular exercise, because I get easily bogged down by studying or the desire to not get out of bed because my brain hurts.

One way I’ve decided I can do this is by making mini goals.  And I’ve decided to adopt this ‘plan’ into both my studies and my fitness.  How? 

Well, I’m going to schedule in weekly study trips to coffee shops (coffee shops cost money, but a trivial amount, and because they help me study – its totally worth it), study sessions with friends in the department, and devote certain hours on certain days to the different classes.

And for races, well…I have done something perhaps a little ambitious, but something I’m really excited about.  I’ve decided to do a race a month, for 2011.

I’ve done my research and picked out the first few months of races, and a few further off, but have left a few months up to my discretion (especially summer months, as I’m not entirely sure where I’ll be yet).  Here’s what I have so far:

January –
February –
March –
April – Santa Cruz Half Marathon
May –
June –
July –
August – Santa Cruz Triathalon
September –
October –
November –
December –

(If I do this, it will actually be 15 races in 15 months, as I will have completed my marathon in October, the Turkey Trot 10k in November, and the Joyful 5k in December).

My rules for this are:

  • It can be any type of race, as long as it is outdoors. 
  • The shortest length can be a 5k.
  • It has to be timed.
  • I will have fun, and finish them all.

If you have any recommendations for races (preferably in Northern California – or anywhere in California), I’m open for suggestions because I need to fill the calendar!!!

2 thoughts on “My Raceolution.

  1. Ooh, I love the one-a-month idea! You could even take photos and at the end of the year make a calendar or photobook to remember all of the races.

    I agree– it’s so hard to find time to workout when in a PhD program. I think training plans and mini-goals are the way to go!

    • Ooo! I love the idea of taking photos at each race and then making a calendar! That’s an excellent idea (and a great 2011 Xmas gift for myself ;))!

      I love mini-goals. They keep me on track a whole lot better 🙂

Leave a Reply

