Home Cookin’

I arrived home laaaaaate on Monday night due to giving up my seat on my flight for two round trip tickets ANYWHERE that Air Tran travels.  Shortly after doing so, I realized I can’t fly INTO Chicago from San Francisco.  This made me very sad, but two tickets or 8 hours in an airport?!  As much as NoLa airport sucked, the two tickets won out in the end 🙂

Since arriving home I’ve been decompressing.  A lot.  I’ve kind of disconnected from the world, and had a few day hideout.  It was quite nice :)  And I’ve been hitting up my mom’s gym with the free week pass she scored me.  I’ve had three solid days of workouts – and it has felt awesome to be back in the gym!  Now, if only the Midwest would get Body Pump…

I also got my grades back, and was pleasantly surprised: there will be a second quarter in my first year of my PhD program – I passed all my classes, ladies and gentlemen!  Perhaps not as well as I’d like for all of them, but regardless: I passed!

Since I was in such a good mood yesterday, and my mom wanted salmon for dinner I told her “I’ll cook.  With wasabi.  It will be great.”  I got a unsure look and a “make sure its not too spicy” comment and then I was off to the store!

I stopped by Byerly’s where I was able to snag three tail pieces of fresh salmon for the price of two since everyone seemed to want long pieces – but if you didn’t know, the tail pieces are the best part of the fish – so I was a happy, happy camper.

Then I hurried home to cook…my Green Apple Wasabi Salmon!  I used the recommended amount of wasabi for my father’s sake, and my mother LOVED the green apples soaked in the sauce, and actually came up with the idea of making them SOLO as a side dish!  I couldn’t agree more 🙂

  047

For some reason, I believe everything tastes just a weee bit better coming out of my mom’s oven.  I even made dinner myself, but just something about it coming out of my mom’s oven or made in my mom’s cookware makes every meal smell & taste even better than usual.  So, mom, I’d like to ask you for your oven for Christmas.  And your stove.  And pots and pans.  And wooden spoons…

Moving on.

My portion (plus another slice o bread & some more apples.  the apples are seriously so good).

056

(We also made the Quinoa bread using a Healthy Bread in 5 Minutes A Day recipe – soooo good!).  If you’re looking for a quick, easy way to make your own healthy, homemade bread – you should check it out!  It seriously took no time to make the dough, the dough can sit in the fridge for 10 days, so you can have fresh bread every night!

042 050 

My mom has this recipe book, and I plan on either sneaking it with me, or perhaps opening a Christmas package and finding one for myself.  We shall see, we shall see 🙂

Other than that its been Xmas shopping, wrapping, decompressing, and being a lazy, lazy bum here on the home front: I’ve literally slept for almost 12 hours a night the past few nights – I’m making up for all I lost during finals week ;)  I’m also trying not to freeze up in the frozen tundra, and will admit: while I love the snow, I’m really missing the mild California winter…

Hope you’re all having wonderful holiday seasons!!! 

Are you running any cold holiday races?  If so, how do you dress/prepare for the frigid running conditions?  I’m a little out of practice.  Though I did run an 8k last winter in snowy Chicago, I haven’t run in cold weather in about a year, and I’ve signed up for a race on Christmas Day.  While its only a 5k, I’m a little nervous about running in the cold, and would love to get any pointers you may have!  And, any other Minnesotan’s running the Joyful 5k @ Como Park in St. Paul?

7 thoughts on “Home Cookin’

  1. Passing the semester is always a great feeling – congrats! I have tons of wasabi in my refrigerator that I have no idea what to do with, and I also have lost of salmon in my freezer. In short – I love the sound of this idea. Even better – quinoa bread? For real? I love it!

  2. Passing the semester is always a great feeling – congrats! I have tons of wasabi in my refrigerator that I have no idea what to do with, and I also have lots of salmon in my freezer. In short – I love the sound of this idea. Even better – quinoa bread? For real? I love it!

Leave a Reply

