Green Apple Wasabi Salmon

I love fish.  And I love trying new ways to cook fish.  And a few years ago, my roommate at the time and I, ran across an interesting mixture on a website for salmon: wasabi & salmon.  We had also come across a side dish that involved green apples 7 wasabi.

129

So, my roommate and I (way back in the day before blogging) concocted a spectacular recipe we called Green Apple Wasabi Salmon.  And I present it here for your pleasure:

Green Apple Wasabi Salmon (serves 6-8 people)

  • 2 Granny Smith apples
  • 6 tbsp soy sauce
  • 6 tbsp mirin
  • 3 tsp wasabi powder (I use more…but I loveeeee spicy food)
  • 6-8 green scallions
  • 3-4 tbsp Earth Balance
  • 2-2 1/2 pounds salmon

In a small sauce pan, melt the Earth Balance.  Then add in the the soy sauce, mirin, wasabi powder and scallions.  Boil for about 5 minutes, or until the sauce starts to thicken a bit.  Set sauce aside.

Then, place salmon in a baking pan (you can line it with foil if you want).  Thinly slice the Granny Smith apples and spread over the salmon.  Cover with the soy sauce mixture.  If you have time, let it marinade for at least 20 minutes.  If not, no worries 🙂

Cover the pan with tinfoil and put it in the broiler for 20-30 minutes (or until the salmon is cooked through – to me, that means it kind of flakes apart).  Remove from the oven.  Let sit for a few minutes to cool, then serve and enjoy 🙂

133

 

This is an incredible recipe that has been a hit over the past few years  Most recently Mr. K and I cooked it for some of our friends in Chicago.  They loved it :)  And so did I (obvs).  What I love about it is the mix of sweet with the mirin and apples, and spicy with the wasabi and green onions.  And I add a lot more wasabi that I recommend – because I LOVE spicy.  And the Granny Smiths, when they are soaked and broiled in the sauce, is just scrumptious. 

 

This recipe is brought to you by AirTran – just kidding :)  But I am flying sky high in the air right now – many thanks to FREE wifi for the holidays ala AirTran.  LOVE it!

The only thing cramping my style?!  The 10 hours I sat in NoLa airport, and the two kids screaming right behind me (no joke, the seat behind me).  My IPod can’t even shut them out.  Anyone have some cognac or rum?!  Just kidding ;)  But seriously…

 

Are you a mother with kids?!  Is it possible to keep kids quiet?!  If so, what’s your trick?!  If not, have you ever had to deal with it?!  And how do you deal? Because I’m sooo drained from being in an airport for 10 hours and on edge from not being able to move very much (the airport is small, and I had a lot of stuff) I’m not dealing very well…In fact, I’m quite frustrated…

One thought on “Green Apple Wasabi Salmon

Leave a Reply

