The Magical Fruit

Over the past few weeks, I have acquired an incredible amount of beans.  Pinto beans, black beans, white beans, green lentils, red lentils, regular lentils, navy beans…  You get the picture 🙂

And its reminded me of a favorite childhood saying my father taught me:

Beans, beans the magical fruit,

The more you eat, the more you toot,

The more you toot, the better you feel,

So eat more beans with every meal.

 Beans

source: http://www.raw-living-food-success.com/

 

Now, well I don’t agree entirely with the sayin’ my dad taught us, I have decided that in the new year I’m going to incorporate a vast amount more of beans because they’re:

1. a great source of protein
2. very versatile
3. very cheap (I have them and it would save me eons)
4. very easy to cook in meals ahead of time, and almost always taste better as leftovers (in my humble opinion).

 

As such, I need your favorite bean recipes, which I will feature on the blog (with credit give to you) as I cook my way through my bean supply in January-March.

What I’m looking for?!  Anything goes – chilies, soups, casseroles, dips, burgers, etc.  So submit your recipes to phdstrides@gmail.com and over break I’ll compile my recipe order list and frequency (it really depends on the number of recipe submissions I get), and then once I’m back at school in January, we’ll go from there!

So, send me your bean recipes!!!! 

Hope you’re all having a great weekend – I’ve been enjoying myself in NoLa with one of my besties from college – expect recaps soon!!!

4 thoughts on “The Magical Fruit

Leave a comment