Perfect Finals Recipe

For those of you who have been following me on Twitter (@PhDStrides), you know that I’ve been in the midst of a very stressful past week and a half.  Sleeping has turned into napping and the studying has taken up a ridiculous amount of time.  In fact, I haven’t been doing much else other than studying, studying, taking tests and eating/sleeping – a little bit.

Since I knew I wasn’t going to have much time, I was looking for a really easy, cheap recipe that I could make – and have lots of leftovers from to eat for the week.

Luck for me, Melissa responded to a tweet I posted inquiring about easy finals food, and sent she wonderfully sent me an incredibly easy & cheap recipe:

Chicken & Rice Casserole

  • 2-2 1/2 pounds cut up chicken
  • 2 cups water (boiling)
  • 1 can cream of chicken/mushroom soup.
  • 1 packet Italian dressing seasoning
  • 1 cup rice
  • salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350.  Boil the water and mix it with the packet of Italian dressing seasoning and the soup.  Mix it with the rice and spread in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.  Top with the cut chicken.  Cover with tinfoil & bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes.  Uncover and cook for 10-15 minutes until the rice is thoroughly cooked.

 

I knew right away that this recipe was one I wanted to try, but I also knew that I couldn’t do it – cream of chicken/mushroom has cream in it 😦  So, I made a few alterations, which I was really, really excited about.

027

 

Creamy Tomato Chicken, Broccoli & Rice Casserole

  • 2 pounds of cut up chicken
  • 2 cups water (boiling)
  • 2 cups creamy tomato soup (I used Organic Pacific)
  • 1 packet Italian dressing seasoning
  • 1 1/2 cup brown rice
  • 2-3 cups cut up broccoli.

Preheat oven to 350.  Boil the water and mix it with the packet of Italian dressing seasoning and the soup.  Mix it with the rice and spread it in the bottom of a 9×13 baking dish.  Top with cut chicken and broccoli.  Cover with tinfoil & bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes.  Uncover and cook for 10-15 minutes until the rice is thoroughly cooked.

028

 

It was the perfect meal, it was quick and definitely cheap!

And?  Even though I never tried the original recipe, i LOVED the tomato flavor and addition of broccoli.  I probably would go back and add a little salt/pepper to the casserole before baking it, but other than that, I was really happy.

And, I’ve been eating it for either lunch/dinner every day since Saturday – a quick fix when you’re in a bind!!  And in my opinion, casseroles and other like dishes taste better as leftovers, so I’ve been very happy the past few days 🙂

And on that note – I’ve just got one final left!!  Wish me luck 🙂

2 thoughts on “Perfect Finals Recipe

  1. What an excellent idea using the tomato soup instead of the cream of chicken/mushroom. I hate using the latter – it just sounds disgusting. Plus I can imagine the tomato soup gives it an extra boost of flavor. Thanks for sharing! Good luck with school!

Leave a Reply

