Thanksgiving 2010: Meet Edna…

Edna is the turkey.  The turkey we ate for Thanksgiving.  The turkey I may have gotten a weeeee bit too close to on Thursday – I mean I did have to wash her, lather her up with oil, bake her and then decimate her.  Though, definitely not too close to eat.  Because let’s be honest.  Whether you name the turkey or not…its Thanksgiving & must be consumed.

008

Edna is the second turkey I’ve ever made.  The first was 2 Christmases ago in Chicago when I couldn’t go home for Christmas because I had to work on Christmas (my previous job was wonderful, but also had a few downsides…) and didn’t have anywhere to go for Christmas Eve.  As such, I took on the huge task of cooking 1/3 a meal for a homeless shelter.  I’ll just say this: making a case of Mac & Cheese is not an easy task.  Anyways, back to Edna.

I really wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with Edna, so, I kind of winged it – and she turned out great!  The only thing I would’ve done differently is actually had on had string to tie her together so that the wing meat didn’t dry out as much.

But, it was a really easy recipe.

020

Easy Turkey

  • 1-2 cups veggie/chicken broth (I used low-sodium veggie broth)
  • EVOO
  • turkey
  • Metal turkey holder/string
  • Spices (I used an Italian spice blend)

Preheat oven to 500.  Take defrosted turkey, and rinse it off in the sink.  Remove all inside parts (the neck, paper stuffing, etc) and throw away (I don’t use these).  Also remove all plastic tethering pieces..  Pat dry, and place in the roasting pan.  I place the turkey breast side down (very unconventional) because I read an article somewhere that prevents the likelihood of the breast meat drying out, and nobody like dry turkey meat.

Rub the entire turkey with EVOO, and sprinkle some herbs into the inside cavities of the turkey.  Tie the legs together around the turkey with the string — or use provided metal clasp (I didn’t do this and the wings got a little dry because I didn’t have any string on hand).

Place turkey in the oven at 500 for 20 minutes.  After 20 minutes, baste, and turn the oven down to 350.  Baste turkey every 30 minutes until turkey is done.  Estimated time to bake a turkey is about 1 hour/5 pounds, or when the breast meat & wing meat are at about 165 degrees.  If the turkey is browning too much, you can cover her with tinfoil.

Once done, remove from oven, let sit for about 15-20 minutes and then carve, make turkey gravy (see below) and enjoy!

Mmmmm…TURKEY.

023

And then I made the gravy – also incredibly easy.

Turkey Gravy

  • drippings from turkey (all the broth and good stuff at the bottom of the pan)
  • salt & peppa
  • about a 1/4 cup flour

Take all the drippings from the turkey roaster and put them in a small sauce pan on the stove.  Turn onto medium heat.  Add some salt & peppa to taste.  Add a few tablespoons of flour, and let simmer until it thickens.  You may need to add more flour, depending on the quantity of drippings you had.  Once its at desired thickness, remove from heat and serve!!

We also had Brazillian Cheesy Muffins (none for me…but they smelled good!!!)

024

There was also cheesy potatoes and a green bean casserole (I couldn’t partake, but they both looked delight)027

028

One of my fellow economists’ wives stopped by who is Chinese.  And She brought dumplings.  Delicious, delicious dumplings.

030

I had half of two different dumplings – soooooooo goooooooood.  I also have a new ambition: learn how to make dumplings.

031

There was also a Tofurkey

032

Which was much better than I anticipated, however, I still prefer turkey.  I’m sorry, I’m a meat-kinda gal.  (We have a vegan in our group of friends, so we tried to make as much vegan as possible – and not all food is pictured:))

And then there were desserts.  OH, the desserts.

My second attempt at a vegan pecan pie.

011

It was much more successful than my first attempt. 013

While it wasn’t perfect, I will share the recipe soon.  It was really good for a vegan pecan pie.  It obviously didn’t taste exactly like a non-vegan pecan pie does, but it was pretty darn close, and delicious all the same.  I just need to figure out how to keep it from boiling over in the oven….

My portions of dessert (because we all know that’s the best part anyways)

Vegan Pumpkin Pie + Soy Whip

034

Vegan Pecan Pie + Soy Whip

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

035

 

And there were seconds on the pie.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving, left with full bellies and there was great joy all around.026

 

I am thankful I had such a wonderful group of people to share Thanksgiving with when I couldn’t make it home to be with my family – my whole family in Minnesota.

 

 

 

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!  And that you are still in food coma mode, because I know I am 🙂

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving 2010: Meet Edna…

Leave a Reply

