Because Cancer Doesn’t Take A Holiday…

Yesterday morning, I started Thanksgiving off with a 10k that helped raise money for kids with cancer.  They chose Thanksgiving as the day for the race and to raise money for the kids, because even though we take holidays, cancer doesn’t take one and the kids have to deal with it, even on special occasions.

I decided to run in just under a month ago, with high goals: a sub 48 minute 10k.  I knew this was lofty, but I wanted to achieve it.  And so, go for it I did.

Luckily, it was a flat course, and although I have no photos (I’ll admit: I forgot my camera, and was fully concentrated on PR-ing), I killed it.  Literally.

Unfortunately, I don’t believe the race was actually 6.2…but I still killed it.  My second fastest run ever (my first was the Shamrock Shuffle earlier this year in which I did a sub 40 8k).

Distance: 6 miles (according to my Garmin)

Splits:

Mile 1: 7:49
Mile 2: 7:53
Mile 3: 8:09
Mile 4: 8:10
Mile 5: 8:13
Mile 6: 8:02

Average Pace: 7:56

Nothing like starting off a day of Thanks by being thankful for two legs that carry me – quickly – to the places I want to go – and a PR (even if it was just 6 miles, its was a PR no matter how I looked at it – my fastest 10k prior was about 54 minutes…)

Also, as a showing of my thanks to all of you as readers, supporters and bloggers, make sure to check out my giveaway – it ends at noon!!!

Leave a Reply

