Potato Leek Soup

Friday night in Chicago, Mr. K and I decided to cook dinner for the two of us before an evening out in style.  On the menu was Potato Leek Soup & a Ginger Chicken Stir Fry, but I only have one recipe for you today (sorry!).

The goal of the evening was for an easy, delicious, well rounded meal.  And, I believe it was perfectly attained.

We started by slicing the leeks and cubing the potatoes.

062 063 065

And then we put them in the large pot where we had melted the Earth Balance.  After a few minutes, we tossed in the salt & peppa as well as the vegetable broth, and let it simmer for about 20 minutes.066

Then we cooked the Ginger Chicken Stir Fry, but that will have to wait for another post until I talk to Mr. K about the recipe, since he was in charge of that one 🙂

My serving of the potato leek soup.  SO good and so easy & cheap.  I might try it someone with beef stew meat.  I think that would be a nice addition. 091 092

We paired the dinner with a lovely red wine Mr. K had pick up at our wine shop.  It was delicious.  So smooth, and well rounded.

078

A delightful meal, that was easy, relatively cheap, and well rounded.  I love cooking with Mr. K, and its a great way to spend quality time together and save money.

Also, I will definitely be making the potato leek soup again this winter to warm the bones, even though I’ll be in the pretend cold weather in California 🙂

Potato Leek Soup

  • 2 tbsp Earth Balance
  • 3 leeks sliced into thin slices
  • 3 medium potatoes, cubed
  • salt & peppa
  • 4 cups veggie broth

Melt the Earth Garden in a large pot and toss in the cubed potatoes and leeks for a few minutes until they soften.  Then add salt & peppa to taste.  Add the broth and let simmer for about 20 minutes, or until the potatoes are nice and soft enough to eat.

One thought on “Potato Leek Soup

  1. Sounds delicious! I love potato leek soup but haven’t had it in ages. So funny you call the weather here in California “pretend cold” – as an East Coaster I think the same. I’m forever waiting for the snow that never comes, but certainly not complaining.

Leave a Reply

