NWM Expo & Pre-Marathon Dinner!

This weekend was the long-anticipated Nike Women’s Marathon. 

008

I’ve been training for months… have conquered a number of firsts with some great, and some painful, long runs (see here, here & here for some long run recaps).

I had trained pretty well for the marathon, in my opinion, given the circumstances of my 2 week trip to Europe & my one-week trek moving out to California with Mr. K in August, which definitely set me back.  But, it all came down to this weekend, as you never know how well you’re prepared until the big day.

Marathon weekend started Saturday morning, at 11:45 when I embarked with my Econ cohort (who graciously volunteered to photo/cheer me on for the marathon and then drive back to campus in return for a ride to San Fran), Curtis, to San Francisco.  We arrived in San Francisco around 2:00pm, and waited for Julia & Tyler to arrive around 3:00pm.  Then, Curtis headed out into the city, and Julia, Tyler & I headed to the NWM Expo in Union Square.

We had to wait that wound around the block for registration, but it took only about 20 minutes – fastest moving line I’ve ever been in! 

006

Then, once we registered, we headed into the much anticipated Expo (especially after we heard how great Chicago’s was last weekend).

007

One of the highlights of the Expo was meeting author & blogger Melinda.  She’s writing a book on running a marathon for the first time, and was in SF to run her 13th marathon!  It was great to meet the fabulous and inspiring woman to whose book I will be contributing a small part!  Look for my race re-cap on her blog soon!

Unfortunately, the actual Expo left much to be desired, as the majority of items were Nike, there was no way for families to actually track us while running, and the Expo Map which made the place look huge, was so small we thought we had missed something.  Never the less, we indulged…

009

and we also indulged in Nike Town, where I found my name on the HUGE poster of marathon runner names.

012

 013

And bought a Nike Dri-Fit t-shirt for race day & arm sleeves – soo glad I did because race day turned out to be cold & rainy (though this was much more welcome than hot & humid).

Then, for pre-marathon dinner, Julia, Tyler, Curtis & I headed to Triptych.

We had read some good reviews about Triptych, so Julia & I were pretty psyched about our decision (though it was a little further from Union Square than the map suggested – apparently SF is much bigger than I had realized).

Nevertheless, we headed to Triptych and were a little way when we walked in and were the ONLY ones in the restaurant – but there were 2009 & 2010 diner’s awards on the windows, so we figured our 6pm dinner time was just a little on the early side.

Our waitress, though I’m sorry to say I forgot her name, was awesome and well informed on the food.  And when we mentioned we were prepping for the marathon – the wait staff made sure we were thoroughly watered & fed.

We didn’t order any appetizers, because e random discussion on kids ordering the same meal (Julia & I ordered the exact.same.meal), Julia made a comment about loving tater tots and low and behold…complimentary tater tots!

018

They hit the spot.  I hadn’t had tater tots in so long, they’re delicious, fyi.

Then, they brought us focaccia bread with some dip (I couldn’t have it), for more carbs… And Curtis ordered a laaaaaarge plate of sweet potato fries. 

019

Though we all had our own coming with meals, there was no stopping sneaking a few early.

022

Crinkle cut sweet potato fries.  (It was at this moment, that I decided I needed a crinkle cutter…)

For my entree, I ordered the turkey burger with sweet potato fries.

023

Ate pretty much everything on the plate, but the onions and the sauces.

025

The evidence.

So verdict?  The experience, food and service at Triptych was awesome!  I loved our waitress, the 70’s themed bathroom and my meal, though it was fairly ‘safe’ on the food side, as I didn’t want to try something new the night before the marathon :)  I will definitely be returning to try some of the other amazing-looking menu items, like the paella or Tofu Quinoa.  Mmm….

Then we headed back to the Hotel Beresford near Union Square (where the marathon start/expo was located) to hit the hay.  While the hotel had a cute boutique feel, there was one big pitfall:

We were given a room on the 2nd floor, right above the hotel’s bar.  As a result, sleep was not easy to come by.  And although we went to bed at like 10pm, I was up until at least 11/11:30pm when I finally remembered I had my IPod and could finally drone the sounds out.  It literally sounded like we were in the bar, it was that bad – we could hear people’s conversations through the floors & walls.  Not my idea of a quality hotel for pre-marathon sleep and perhaps the reason why I may never stay there again — though, I guess we know why it was so cheap?!

Marathon Recap is forthcoming!

2 thoughts on “NWM Expo & Pre-Marathon Dinner!

  1. Pingback: Jogging My Memory » Blog Archive » Dinner at Triptych

Leave a Reply

