On a Serious Curry Kick

Last week after the Broccoli, Eggplant & Snow Pea Curry, I found myself once again craving more curry-flavored foods.  Since I wasn’t in the mood for another curry dish, I opted to try a recipe I found on www.southernfood.about.com, as it combined a few of my favorite ingredients: curry, lentils & spinach.

The best thing about this meal?!  It involved a Crock-pot.  And what does a recipe involving a Crock-pot usually mean?  Minimal prep work, no actual cooking and dinner is ready the minute you walk in the door.

For me, a really busy new graduate student, this is truly a perfect type of meal.  It literally took me about 10 minutes to put it all together.

The only prep? Chopping up a medium onion and mincing 2 large garlic cloves.  Then, throw ALL the ingredients into the Crock-pot.  Turn it onto low, and let it cook for 6 hours, or until the rice & lentils are tender.

P1090586

Serve.  Garnish with mint or chopped tomato, if desired.

I didn’t have any mint/chopped tomato on hand to top the Curried-Spiced Lentils & Spinach, but in my opinion: it wasn’t necessary.  It smelled absolutely curry-spicedtastic when I walked in the door for dinner, and it definitely held up to its expectations when I took my first, second, third…and last bites.   Seriously incredible.

P1090596

And when I served up my leftovers out of the Crock-pot into containers, I couldn’t let the remnants in the pot go to waste…

Step 1

P1090593

Step 2

P1090589

Step 3

P1090590

Peanut Butter Fingers style.

Seriously, it was that good.  Especially if you like curry & lots of flava.

Curried-Spiced Lentils & Spinach (About 3 servings)

  • 1/2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup lentils, rinsed
  • 1/4 cup brown rice
  • 1 10-oz package chopped spinach
  • 1 can (1 1/2 cups) vegetable broth
  • salt to taste

Combine the above ingredients in a Crock-Pot.  Cover and cook on low for 6 hours, or until lentils & rice are tender.  Serve, and garnish with chopped tomato or mint, if desired.

Who else loves curry?  Have a recipe I should try?!  I’m looking for more ways to use up my curry paste & curry powder!!!

Learn more about Crock-Pots and find more recipes (including this one!), here:

Slow Cooker on Foodista

6 thoughts on “On a Serious Curry Kick

  1. I don’t have a lot of experience eating or cooking curry, so when I try it never turns out right. I keep looking though. Is this a dish that you eat alone or do you serve it as a side? I like the use of lentils!

    • It can be used as both. I use it as a main dish, but I often eat vegetarian, so it makes more sense. If you serve it as a side, though, it probably makes between 4-6 servings. It really is easy, and its a great, uncomplicated way to incorporate curry into your food! If you try it, let me know what you think 🙂

  2. I did make this last night. I thought the flavor was really good, and the curry was not overwhelming (I may add more next time). The only problem I had was the quantity of broth listed was not enough to cover the mixture and it evaporated and dried up by the time I got home from working, leaving the lentils and rice uncooked. I added much more broth and cooked it at high for an additional three hours. I’ll be posting a blog about it in a couple of weeks. I will be making this again – but applying the lessons learned. By the way, I love your blog and have given you an award on my site. http://mouth-open.blogspot.com/p/awards.html

    • I’m glad you tried the recipe, but I”m sorry it didn’t work out. Its good to know, though, that the recipe may depend on the type/model of cooker you’re using, or perhaps the climate — because the recipe definitely worked for me with the broth listed — glad you enjoyed it though, and may add more curry 🙂 That in and of itself makes me happy 🙂 thanks for the award!

Leave a Reply

