A Friendly Run!

This weekend started out right.  I met up with a few colleagues in my program for hour at the Santa Cruz Mountain Brewery.  I had two beers, the Wilder Wheat and the IPA.  They were $3/pint during happy hour, and it was a muuuch needed break from studying. 

I went home after happy hour to hit the books, once again – and again in the morning.  Helloooo, grad school.

Then, Saturday afternoon, I packed up my running gear, and headed north to see Julia, and her husband Tyler.  I hadn’t seen them since their wedding back in July, so I was excited to spend time with them, and get away from the books for a little while.

On my way up to see them, my car and I passed an exciting milestone:

P1090600

130,000 and still running strong!!!  Love my car.

Saturday night, while we watched Julia’s friends’ nephew, I indulges in a delicious vegetarian taco and some rice and beans from the local tacquiera.

2010-09-25 19.18.18

And then, after indulging in a Sam Adam’s Oktoberfest (which is delightful by the way), we hit the hay around midnight so that Julia and I could get up early to go for our loooong run.

Pre-run I fueled up with a banana.  For the run, since Safeway didn’t have any Gu or Clif Shots, I packed two servings of Jelly Belly’s.

Julia and I ran a great path, and kept a steady pace of about 10 min/mile (we ended up taking about 5-7 extra  minutes because we were talking with other runners at the water fountain about where to find hills in the area).

I ran about 15.65 in 2:44 (with the break), which is a definite improvement on my 17.08 in 3:03 last week.

Post-run, Julia and I indulged in some G2, a popsicle and then after showering, we headed to Whole Food’s Salad bar.

P1090608

Spinach salad base with jicama, bell peppers, broccoli, cucumbers, tomatoes, celery, carrots and a hardboiled egg topped with balsamic vinaigrette.

P1090609

Lentil and Spinach soup.

P1090606

Honest Mate tea.

All together now (with my french baguette):

P1090610

I ate most of it, but threw out about 1/2 the soup.  I wasn’t a fan.  But definitely some GREAT fueling.  I heard Whole Foods Salad bar, but more importantly, I heart runs and Whole Foods Salad bar with great friends:

P1090607

Julia’s quite excited for Honest Tea & Salad.

Mmm. Mmm. Good.

Then, on my way home I indulged in some more Jelly Belly’s, a Pumpkin Spice Soy Latte, the inside of a Subway Turkey sandwich with lots of veggies and mustard (the bread was not fresh and I spit out the first bite I had).  Oh, and copious amounts of water.

For dinner, I had the rest of my tacos from the tacquiera which I topped with some cheddar Daiya (which miiight be my new obsession).

2010-09-26 17.58.52

And my late night snack while studying was my Lemon Zest Luna bar, some frozen blueberries, and a pomegranate fruit leather.

Sooooo much food, but soooo good.  And necessary for post-run fuel.

Then, this morning.  I decided to push my total mileage in 24 hours to 20 miles.  So, I got up at 5:30 and set off on the road.  Stats?  4.35 miles in 42:14.  Pretty good for a half uphill, half downhill run after running 15.65 the day before. 

Post-run breakfast?

Oatmeal with Soy-nut butter & pumpkin.

P1090615

I was unsure of the mix at first, but after adding a little cinnamon, stevia, pumpkin spice mix & vanilla almond milk – it was PURE delight. 

And on that note, shower time & classes/studying all day.

Happy Monday!

3 thoughts on “A Friendly Run!

  1. I had such a fantastic weekend with you!
    Not sure what I am doing with my face in that picture, but oh well!
    Great job on your run this morning! Enjoy the rest of the day!

    • Then you’ll definitely have to indulge in Whole Foods during your stay in California 🙂 And petition for Boise to get one…

      Thanks for the running encouragement — can’t believe NWM is right around the corner!!

Leave a Reply

