Quick Lunch!

The last few days have been a whirlwind of orientation, training, more orientation, graduate school get-togethers and organizing my life for the quarter.  As such, I’ve been away from my apartment, and therefore computer for much of the week.

But, today was an important day: the first day of fall quarter 2010!

The first class we had was Econometrics, or more better known as Metrics.  It was a short class today, and so far we’re reviewing topics I already know, so I’m hoping to be able to get ahead of the game.  Unfortunately class is at noon, so I’m still trying to figure out how I want to do my lunch.  This is how I did it today.

I had breakfast of Oats, Soy Yogurt, & Soy Nut Butter with a banana on the side around 8:45.

Then I packed up and headed to class around 11 am.  I bike to class, so I give myself about a half hour once I’m at campus to cool down and gather myself.  Why so long?  Because my bike ride is 3.1 miles UP A MOUNTAIN.  Yeah, talk about a way to ‘sneak’ in a work out.

So, once class was over I had a Luna bar around 1:40.  Then I went to go get some statistical software from a colleague, and headed home.

At about 4:00 I was finally able to indulge in lunch.  Since I was starving at this point, I decided to go for a quick, delicious and colorful lunch from the random items I had leftover in the fridge.

In the mix, a reheated grilled veggie burger with ketchup & mustard, sautéed mushrooms and the star?!  Sautéed mini bell peppers from Costco.  Aren’t they just a beautiful orange and yellow?!  (and there is a red one peeking out from under the ‘shrooms!)

P1090581

Delish.  Totally hit the spot.

Dessert was a navel orange.  Mmm.  I love me some oranges.

The rest of the day will entail laundry, more reading of my Metrics book, a start on my Microeconomics (Micro) work for tomorrow’s first class and hopefully a good evening in the kitchen.  I have some lentils I’ve been dying to cook for a few days now, and I just haven’t been able to get around to them.

What is your favorite lentil recipe?  Up until today, I’d have to say its definitely lentil soup, but I’m kind of hoping tonight’s dish changes that.  All I have to say is it involves curry.  And just the idea of curry makes me giddy with joy.

 

Voting ends for Project Food Blog at 6pm PST!  Go here to vote for me to be the Next Food Blog Star!  Thanks to everyone who has already voted!  Every vote counts and is appreciated!

One thought on “Quick Lunch!

  1. I LOVE mini bell peppers!
    You’re a trooper biking to class – if I didn’t have to go through sketchy neighborhoods with my MacBook and ridiculously heavy books I might try it 🙂

Leave a Reply

