17.08 Miles. Enough said.

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m training with Julia for the Nike San Francisco Women’s Marathon on October 17.  Bagh!  Just saying that makes me nervous – its less than a month away!

However, since I found myself traipsing through Europe of two weeks, and on a week long road trip, my training suffered for about a month.  Since then, I’ve been trying to get my mileage up without pushing it too hard.  I didn’t want to overuse my knee or cause a new injury.

Anyways, I managed to go 17.08 miles in 3:02:07.  But I’ll take it because it is my longest run ever, and there were hills – OH THE HILLS.  Oy.  I’m not usually a hater, but I’m sorry: I hate hills.  I know they’re probably good for you.  But they hurt.  In more ways that I can explain.  But alas, I digress.

Moving on.   Pre-run fuel was a whole wheat Orowheat Sandwich Thin with a tbsp of soynut butter.  And an apple.  Oh, and tons of agua.

For my run, I decided to start out from my gym, so that when I finished, I could go stretch on one of the mats and roll around on the foam roller to massage my muscles.  I’m a grad student and can’t afford a masseuse – so it was the ‘next best thing!’

I left my gym and started running towards the ocean.  (I love that I now LIVE by the ocean :)).  And around mile 4 I ended up on a trial and started trail hiking/running.  There were some parts that were just not run-friendly and parts that required me to climb over and under trees…  Then, around mile 5 1/2, I came upon this:

2010-09-20 09.14.40

Which for some reason made me really happy…

2010-09-20 09.15.17

Thumbs up for sweaty PhD Strides!

And that nice boardwalk lead me unknowingly to this

2010-09-20 09.17.08

The photo really doesn’t do it justice…but you can see the waves crashing in the faaaaaar background.  It was beautiful.

And then I charged on, finishing my trail hike/run at about 6.38 miles, and then cruising, more or less, until mile 12, when the cramps started to hit.  And let me tell you, miles 12, 13, and 14 were brutal.  Around mile 12.5, I stopped at a corner market and bought a powerade, water to refill my Nathan 4R Sport Waistbelt & jelly beans for extra fuel.

I then plodded on, and soon enough, I was at mile 14.  And then I realized I was lost.  I had written down instructions, but somehow managed to get lost anyways.  So I took a break, whipped out my MyTouch, and used Google Maps to find my way back to the gym.  I sadly realized, at this point that I had gone too far and it was 3.5 miles back to the gym.  So I opted to run at least 17 and either walk/run the last .5.  Well, I managed to run 17.08.  And the .08 only signifies that when I stopped at the stoplight of that mileage, my legs decided they were done running.  So, therefore:

2010-09-20 11.45.47

I’ll take it!

My eats during the run consisted of two Rasberry Clif Shots.  I had a 1/2 packet at the following intervals: 46 minutes, 1:18, 1:51, 2:18.  I also had a handful of jelly beans (at the 12.5 mile mark & the 14 mile mark), a 20 oz powerade (after the 12.5 mile mark), and a 10 oz weaaaaaaak Gatorade (before the 12.5 mile mark) I made from powder.

Post run, my first lunch was a banana and salad bar from Staff Life

2010-09-20 12.22.11

In the mix: Spinach, bell peppers, little tomatoes, shredded carrots, bean sprouts, a scoop of chickpeas, a hardboiled egg (not pictured), all topped with cilantro lime dressing.  Hit the spot!

My second lunch consisted of reheated Chicken Tortilla Soup with Whole Wheat Saltines:

021

This was later followed by a Grande Pumpkin Spice Soy Latte ala Starbucks.  Not pictured, but delicious as you can imagine.

And now I’m toying with the idea of taking a nap.  I don’t think it will hinder my ability to fall asleep later, but I also want to talk to Mr. K tonight, and he’s on Chicago time, which means its already 7pm there!  Decisions, Decisions!

What is the longest you’ve ever run?!  Did you do it for fun?  For Training?  How did your legs feel after?  My legs currently feel like dead weights, and need a lot more stretching.  I rolled around on the foam roller for a while, and did some quality stretching, but still need to do more.  I have been good, though, and have made myself keep walking around so they don’t cramp up on me.

 

Don’t forget to vote for the Next Food Blog Star!  To vote for me, go here!

8 thoughts on “17.08 Miles. Enough said.

  1. I’ll be at NWM – and I’d be lying if I said the Tiffany & Ghiradelli are totally blinding me of the hilly course. But they are, a little 😉

    We recently moved to SoCal from Ohio, and I still get a little thrill everytime I see the ocean during a run. So different from the dear midwest!

    See ya 10/17, and good luck!

  2. So proud of you for kicking that run’s behind!
    And I can’t wait until we cross that finish line together and receive those fabulous necklaces from men in tuxes! Soo excited!
    Oh and what is this Ghiradelli business that Sarah Soon-To-Be is talking about! As if the Tiffany weren’t motivation enough, they add chocolate to the mix. I hope it’s in the form of a fountain that I can swim in.

  3. So jealous of your ocean views!! Great job on the run. I think you will definitely be ready for 26.2 in a month. The longest run I’ve ever done is 20 miles.

    • You’ll have to come run out in Cali sometime!!! Maybe for your next marathon?!?!?!

      I’ll admit I’m nervous for my first 20+ mileage. I think mile 19 & 20 will be a mind battle…but once I hit the 20 marker, I’ll know it can be done 🙂

  4. The late teens and twenties are definitely a mind f*. You just have to be strong enough (or stupid enough) to keep telling your brain to put one achey, tired leg in front of the other. Usually by then I’m so delirious it’s harder to stop than it is to keep going!

    Plus, I love having an excuse to stuff my face for the rest of the day. 🙂

    • i’ll let you know how my next long run goes 🙂 but i agree its going to be a game of mind over matter 🙂

      and i’m with you there on the food — one of the best reasons to run a long ways is to be able to eat really, really good food, all day long 🙂

Leave a Reply

