Simple & Real

A year a go, I would’ve never thought of myself as a food blogger.  In fact, I had no idea food blogs even existed.  What I did have was a love for food & new recipes as well as a love for healthy living and exercise.

Once I discovered the food blog world, it took me six months to decide to start a blog.  I attempted a few failed blogs before I settled in and decided it was something I really wanted to have as a part of my life. One of the main reasons I was hesitant to start is because I have a very busy schedule, and I get distracted easily: SQUIRREL!

But that being said, I started PhD Strides in May of 2010, as an outlet for me to share my love for food, exercise and overall healthy living while on a budget and time constraint.  As such, I strive to utilize & create simple recipes that are delicious and wholesome at the same time.  For example, my Summer Chicken Sausage Pasta:

June 26, 2010 Uplaod 001

Or Goat Cheese & Fig Pizza:

038

Both which require minimal preparation, and minimal ingredients.

On top of being simple, my creations, and posts, are a personal reminder that when I put my mind to something, I can create something amazing – be it a delicious, but always simple, meal (Cuban Black Beans):

009

writing out matrices for problem in class:

Photos for Blog 025

or running a marathon (soon to be accomplished with Julia on October 17!:).

Julia's Wedding 112

And that all of it can be done with a tight schedule and a money conscious lifestyle.

That being said, I’m a regular girl who loves to challenge herself in the classroom, kitchen, in a workout and just in life in general.  It’s what my blog is all about – and its what I believe a food blog star should be”: Real and average, with a passion for food (and apparently odd shaped objects that make noise).

DSC00739

So, maybe not that average 🙂  But, you can work with me 🙂

Regardless, I blog to share myself, my experiences, love for food & passion for exercise to maintain a healthy life with friends (including bloggers and readers), my family and myself.  Which, is why I would love to be the next food blog star.

If you blog, why do you blog?  And if you don’t blog – what would you blog about if you did?!  What would be your blog ‘mantra?’

Voting opens Saturday morning – look for my post for information on how to vote for me to be the next Food Blog Star via the Food Buzz Project Food Blog contest!  (While you’re there – check out the posts by the other contestants, as there are some other fabulous food bloggers out there!)

7 thoughts on “Simple & Real

  1. both the pizza and black beans look delicious! thanks for your comment on my blog. it’s nice to know people still read even though I don’t get to post much. how have your attempts to get the to the gym been going? I’ve only been once this week … ick.

    good luck with the Food Blog Star project! I’ll vote for you. 🙂

    • they’re both super simple and delicious! julia recommended your blog to me a while back, and i’ve enjoyed it quite a bit. and i also understand being too busy to blog sometimes 🙂

      i’ve been 2x this week (and i’m training for a marathon, whoops!), but studying takes precedence sometimes! you can do it though — perhaps think of ways to award your self as you achieve goals — like a new cd from itunes if you go 8x in a month, or a pair of work our shorts you’ve wanted, or lunch at your favorite restaurant. incentives really do work!!

Leave a Reply

