Goat Cheese & Fig Pizza

Last night when I went to work out, I also stopped by Trader Joe’s on my way home, were I was able to indulge in a wide variety of delicious foods with my Trader Joe’s giftcard (I received this as a birthday gift from my siblings).

Of my purchases was the whole wheat pizza dough.  I bought it to attempt to recreate a fig and goat cheese pizza Jenna indulged in last week at a restaurant in Texas.  And then, after stocking up on some two buck chuck (Cab Sav variety), I headed home.

And today, the baking began.  I took the dough out of the fridge at about 5:30 for a half hour and put it on a light coating of flour on my cookie sheet.

After about 20 minutes, I spread the dough out to be about a 1/4 inch thick.  Then I spread spreadable goat cheese on the dough, and topped it with a thin layer of pizza sauce.  (A backwards pizza of sorts.)  On top, I put cut dried figs, chopped spinach, some dry basil and some onion flakes.

033

035

Then I baked my pizza in the oven at 450 for about 11 minutes.  And voila.

038

The verdict?!  Goat cheese & fig pizza = one of the best.ideas.ever.  This was the first pizza I had had in quite some time with cheese on it…and you better believe I will be eating a lot more pizza from now on.  Bring on the carbs, goat cheese & toppings!

Goat Cheese, Fig & Spinach Pizza

  • 1 bag whole wheat pizza dough (from Trader Joe’s)
  • Spreadable goat cheese
  • handful of dried figs
  • handful of spinach
  • onion powder
  • dried basil
  • pizza sauce

Set pizza dough on a lightly floured surface for twenty minutes.  Preheat oven to 450.

After 20 minutes, spread (rolling or tossing or flipping) until dough is about a quarter inch thick.  Put on the pizza pan/cookie sheet.  Then, spread the goat cheese thinly onto the dough, and top with a think layer of pizza sauce.

Cup up the dried figs, and put the handful of spinach into the food processor to chop up.  Sprinkle the figs and spinach on the pizza.  Then sprinkle a little onion powder and dried basil on top.

Put in the oven and bake for about 10-12 minutes, or until the edges of the pizza start to turn that crusty golden brown.  Remove, serve and enjoy.

It melts in your mouth…

 

What are your favorite pizza toppings?  Ultimately, mine is baked chicken, fresh tomato and basil.  But this fig & spinach with goat cheese is coming in a close second.  Mmm. Mmm.  Good.  (Kinda like Campbell’s soup!)

3 thoughts on “Goat Cheese & Fig Pizza

  1. I had no idea that TJ’s had whole wheat pizza dough! I was actually looking for some dough at Target today but they didn’t have any – I’m glad I can get some there instead!
    And that pizza does look awesome – I’m sure it might take a little convincing to get Tyler to try it though 🙂

  2. You’re welcome for the TJ’s giftcard 🙂 And the pizza sounds delish with the exception of figs….not a fan….but other than that…tasty 🙂 LUV U! ~B

Leave a Reply

