Formal Introduction

Dear Blog World,

I’m pleased to introduce you the first of my many ‘new best friends’ in my new adventure of graduate school, which starts in just over a month on August 30th!  For those of you who are new to the blog (even though the blog isn’t really old at all), I will be starting a PhD Program in International Economics this coming fall in Northern California.  I will be moving to California at the end of August and will from there start on what will hopefully be a five year journey towards earning my Doctorate.  Holy Insanity — I can’t wait to be Dr. Nelson 🙂

So, without further ado.  Blog World, meet Simon & Blume:

Simon & Blume is my Math Camp bff (also known as a textbook) for 3 hours a day for three weeks starting August 30th.  As such, I’ve started ahead on my studies, and have driven through the first 2 1/2 lessons.  I want to get through about half the lessons before I arrive in California, but who knows if that will actually happen.  I mean, I have the following adventures ahead:

2 weeks cruise in Eastern Europe with Mr. K & family
1 week roadtrip to California involving a 2 day stop in Boulder/Denver, and a 2 day stop in Vegas!

But regardless, get familiar with Simon & Blume.  I will probably refer to them as either:

  • Simon
  • Blume
  • S&B
  • Such Bull…
  • And I’m sure many more nicknames will come.

And so, get familiar.  Simon & Blume will become a regular blog figure.  As will many of his cohorts — who will be introduced in the coming weeks.

Fare the well, and Happy Thursday!

Much Love to the Blog World,

Elise

Leave a Reply

