A Classic Twist

Monday morning when I woke up I was craving PB&J.  All I wanted was a solid PB&J on whole wheat bread, cut diagonally (so I don’t have to eat the crusts).  I wanted it to be 1993.  Oh…what I would give…okay, not really.

Since I don’t have bread (I’m moving in 11 days and refuse to buy more groceries — so I’m eating through my cupboard/freezer/fridge), I decided to to a twist on the classic PB&J and came up with:

PB&J Oats!  Best.Idea.Ever.

PB&J Oats

1/3 c oats
1 tbsp pb
1 tbsp of momma’s strawberry preserves
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp Amazing Meal
1/4 c almond milk
stevia

Mmmm..  I want more.

Lunch yesterday  consisted of more goodies from the cupboard.  Enter: enchillada sauce (I found a use for it thanks to Julia), brown rice, pinto beans (from a can), canned corn w/ red & green peppers.  Mix, heat, enjoy.

And a spinach salad on the side with red wine vinaigrette.

Snacks yesterday included: a Luna Bar (I found the Dulce de Leche bar at Treasure Island, and while this was meant to be a pre-workout snack.  I couldn’t resist its dairy free goodness) and some popcorn.  Not necessarily the healthiest of snacks.  But I was thoroughly satisfied.

And dinner last night was the Mandarin Orange salad from Wendy’s (my fridge is getting bare and nothing sounded appetzing).  And post-dinner workout was 5.5 miles on the crosstrainer and 40 minutes of weights/stretching.

And now, I’m off to have brunch with Mr. K @ Corner Bakery!

Leave a Reply

