A Spontaneous Fiesta!

Just over a week ago, Mr. K sent me an e-mail asking me if I wanted to come by his place to help eat/cook a fabulous dinner!  I had no idea what was in store for me, but I’m not one to pass up free meals — especially those cooked by the boyfriend.  He’s a fabulous cook.

The menu was quite impressive.  What can I say, Mr. K is an impressive kind of guy.  Here’s what he put on the menu:

fish tacos
fresh salsa
corn guacamole
chips
tortillas
limes & cabbage toppings

I was in Mexican heaven.  Delicious.

The recipes were mostly provided by Mark Bittman, who is a serious genius of a chef, but we did a few alterations of our own.

Cooking:

Yours truly, helping Chef Mr. K.

The food:

Salsa.

(for clarification: we did not make the chips)

Refried beans.

Simple Fish Tacos (see recipe below!)

Cabbage & Limes for topping

The table.

My plate of Mexican goodness…plus the chips +guac/salsa I ate.  And an extra scoop or two of the refried beans.  Such an incredible meal!  I think Mr. K should cook for me (and his friends) all the time!  (Don’t you?!)

Because they were so delicious and easy to make, for your taco pleasure…

Simple Fish Tacos

Serves 4-6

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 jalapeño, chopped
  • white fish fillets (we used cod, probably about 2 pounds)
  • water
  • salt & peppa
  • tortillas (I prefer small corn ones)

Chop up an onion and two jalapeños.  Put onion, jalepeno, fish fillets in large pan.  Add about 1 tbsp water.  Season with salt & pepper.  Put lid on the pan and put over medium heat for about 6 minutes, or until the fish is cooked through — no need to stir!  Once the fish is thoroughly cooks, take a fork and pull it apart (it should just fall apart) to make it taco ready.  Heat up the tortillas either one by one on a flat pan, or in the microwave in a damp paper towel for about 45 seconds.  Then serve and top off the tacos with chopped cabbage, limes and fresh salsa.

‘Twas definitely a wonderful meal!  I’m hoping for another great meal tonight, as he was debating this afternoon what we should cook for dinner!  Have a great Friday night!

What is one of the sweetest things your friends/family/significant other has done for you? Mine would probably be when I came home from Xmas in Minnesota with my family, and Mr. K called me to see if I had arrived, and when I told him I was in Chicago and headed to public transport, he told me not to and picked me up in a Zip Car at the airport!  Then, he proceeded to cook me Vegetarian Chili for dinner (even though I was exhausted) because he was so excited I was back in town!  Truly one of the sweetest gestures ever.

Leave a Reply

