Short, sweet and to the point

Yesterday’s workday seemed to drag on and on.  But it was spotted nicely with a delightful lunch.

I had a spinach salad with lots o’ toppings with red wine vinegar, some sugar snap peas, and overnight oats with 1/3 c oats, 1 tbsp chia seeds, stevia, soy yogurt. Mmmmmm.  Good.  And a peach.  Later I had an orange and some nuts for a snack.

After work, I headed to the gym were I did a solid 35 minute bike ride and 20 minutes on the elliptical, with a 5 minute cool down and some arm weights.

Then, it was my short, sweet but delicious dinner out with my parents!  We went to Gepetto’s in Oak Park.  My dad and I had gone here about a year ago when he visited just before my birthday in August.  He had the eggplant parmigiana, and LOVED it.  Needless to say, when we went back again tonight — he ordered the same meal.  My mom had the salad bar with soup, and I had the delightful Veggie Paninni.  The paninni packed in roasted eggplant, zucchini, red peppers, onions and mushrooms topped with goat cheese.  Hit the spot.  I had a pickle slice and fruit salad on the side.  The paninni was HUGE, and as such I will be eating the second half for lunch tomorrow.  I cannot wait!

But literally, that’s all we did.  They arrived, we dined, they left for Michigan.  Short, sweet and to the point.  But then they didn’t have to scold me for my disaster of a room.  (Remember that photo from yesterday…it hasn’t changed a bit.)

I then had an apple and chocolate with chilies for dessert.  Hit the spot.

This morning, I got up and squeezed out a solid 4 mile run, including 4×100 sprints.  Pre-run I had an apple for some energy.  Felt good to hit the pavement again.  I think this “run three days a week” mantra will be good for me.  Very good.  My legs already feel stronger, and not worn out.  I’ll tell you how I feel about this in a few weeks when I hit my first really long run.  Oy.  Just thinking about it makes me cringe.  Why am I running a marathon again?!

It was then time for BREAKFAST.  Since I hit the pavement hard today, I decided that a protein-rich breakfast was in store.  Thus, I pulled a Brugger’s whole wheat bagel out of the freezer and let it defrost while I ran.  Then I heated it up and topped it with some Earth Garden.  I also made an egg (1 whole egg + 1 egg white) to go with the bagel, and topped that with some lemon pepper.  aeome TJ’s Orange Mango juice was indulged in as well.

Off to work — running really late.  Theme of my life.

Leave a Reply

