Goin’ to the Chapel…

Clarification: this wedding was not for me.  Moving on.

So this weekend was the wedding of a very good friend of mine, Liz.  So all in all, insanity weekend.

Saturday evening started out with the rehearsal and dinner, which was supposed to start at 5.  Mr. K and I arrived at 5 o’clock, to discover that none of the groomsmen or other bridesmaids were there…nor was the pastor.  By 5:30 we had it mostly sorted out…but seriously?  The pastor was late?  I digress.

Then we moved on to Goose Island Restaurant/Brewpub in the Lincoln Park area where we had the rehearsal dinner, and copious amounts of beer.  I had two green line (a Chicago area only pale ale, that only comes in keg…they’re tracing the carbon footprint of this beer’s distribution.  Its a pretty cool thing.  Check it out here).  And then a Willow St. Wit and followed it up with a super strong IPA (if I knew what it was, I would tell you).

Dinner was a wide array of things, most that I couldn’t eat (pasta, salad, mashed potatoes, rootbeer floats…).  But, I did enjoy some pork and vegetables.  Hence the copious amounts of beer 🙂

If you didn’t discern this from above, the copious amounts of beer meant we were at Goose Island from 6pm to about 1am.  Quite the night though.

Sunday morning, I woke up early and met Kristi for brunch at Orange, and then we went to an Ulta Salon to get our hair did.  (For those of you who are not from the city, in Chicago, when you get your “hair done,” its “hair did.”  Don’t ask, I can’t explain it.  Its just how it is.)  We were less than pleased with what we got for $55.  Basically all she did was curl my hair while talking about her experiences at fat camp and bad relationships with men.  Totally awkward.  I do not want to know those things about my stylist.  If you haven’t guessed, I won’t be going back there.  (For those of you in Chicago, it was the one at North/Sheffield).

Then we scurried around the city, picking up shoes and jewelery (yes, we’re very last minute) and then headed to the couple’s apartment to pick up the rest of the bridesmaids, friends and dates, and head down to meet the lovely bride at her hotel.  There we got dressed, and then headed to the ceremony in the PARTY BUS.  I don’t have a picture of the ridiculous outside, but here is the beautiful bride on the inside:

Then we had the ceremony at Lincoln Park Zoo in the Pavillion, and after the ceremony headed for photos around Chicago (in the PARTY BUS) and then back to the Zoo for the reception at Cafe Brauer.  The cocktail hour/dinner/dancing was a wonderful night.  We celebrated the happy couple (Liz and Chris) until close to midnight.  Well, Mr. K and I left at midnight.  But here are some snippets from the evening.

The following photography is all done by Mr. K.  He’s got a good eye, if I do say so myself 😉

The girls (Lara, Kristi, Liz, me, Jamie, Becky)

First dance as Mr. & Mrs.!

With the happy couple, Chris and Liz.

One of many ‘strike a pose’ moments.

All in all it was a fabulous weekend, and I’m soo excited for the bride and groom!  They are seriously perfect for one another, and I’m so happy I got to spend the weekend celebrating the two of them and their love.  Truly amazing.  And it was probably the best/most fun wedding I’ve ever been to — oh, and I got Mr. K to dance!  Which is not an easy feat!

Tomorrow I’ll update on today.  Because frankly, I’m exhausted.  So I’m going to go romance my pillow, because it hasn’t gotten enough love the past few days.  Have a good night — and hope you all had a great weekend and Monday!

Tuesday is coming, did you bring your coat? Name that youtube video!  If you can name it, recite another line from it, or post a link to it, you’ll earn my respect.  No, seriously.  You will.

One thought on “Goin’ to the Chapel…

Leave a Reply

