A surprise visit!

I’m sorry I’ve been a little “vague” on my posts recently.  My life has seriously spiraled out of control.  I don’t have a free weekend the rest of the summer (granted they’re all jam-packed with FUN, but still..not a free weekend) and there seems to be 5324908 things I need to do before the big move to California.  And the list gets longer every day.  Oy.  Not that I’m complaining — I’m soo excited for Northern Cali and starting my PhD program, but man there is too much to do.  Did you know registering and getting your California license is a pain?  I learned this from a post over on Eat, Live, Run and I am not looking forward to this experience in August.  At all.

I digress.

Dinner last night was a la Mr. K.  We had brats + buns + sauteed onions and peppers.  Delish.  I had one…he had 2.  And we paired it with a nice cool Reisling.  Mmm.  Nothing quite satisfies me in the summer like a refreshing cool glass of white wine.  It should be summer more often.  So I can drink more white wine.  Problem solved: moving to California.

Moving on.  Yesterday at work (I guess we’re going back in time) I got a text from one of my best friends, Kristi, who has been working for TFA in New Orleans for the past year (she has one more year down there).  She texted me to tell me…that she was outside of my work!!!  I was so excited I literally skipped out of the office, ran down the stairs and out of the building into her arms.  It was soooo good to see her.  And I met her friend/date to the wedding this weekend, Chris.   He was a delight as well.  That pretty much made my day week.  I miss her, a lot.  Can’t wait to see her a million times this week and next!  You’ll hear lots of great stories.  And memories.

This morning I woke up and headed straight for the gym.  I ran/walked 4.5 miles in 45 minutes.  I walked more than I would’ve liked due to a blister I developed on my left arch.  I switched shoes, and I haven’t broken them in enough.  And I got a blister on day 1, and never let it heal…thus I have a blister, inside of a blister.  I need to invest in bandaids — that will be my afternoon errand.

Then I indulged in an Argo Tea medium iced green tea + sugar free vanilla + soy topper.  Its all gone.  And now, I’m in search of breakfast.  I shall return.

What do you do to prevent blisters with new shoes?  Or how do you break in your new shoes? Usually I take them on long walks before running in them, but I was just too excited to get them on my feet this time, and failed miserably at the breaking in.  I have also been short on time lately.  And now I’m paying with blisters — suggestions on how to make my arch blisters heal quick?!

Leave a Reply

