Work should have a snooze button.

Yesterday on the way home from work I was quickly fading.  I pretty much dozed the entire ride out of downtown on the L.  But, I had convinced myself earlier that a double up workout day was just what I needed.  So, I headed to the gym.

For a pre-gym snack I had an apple and an orange.  I then set my sights on canceling my gym membership and hitting the crosstrainer for 30 minutes.  Apparently canceling a membership is much harder than starting it.  It took me 20 minutes to get a hold of a manager (this is the third time I’ve tried to switch) and when I tried to explain they needed to give me some $$ back because I overpaid my last months dues (I used to have a higher level membership, and recently downgraded…so the last months dues I paid upfront is more than my current dues are…therefore they owe me money), they looked at me funny and couldn’t understand.  Needless to say I will be paying the General Manager of the gym of phone call today.  I’m a grad student after all, and every penny counts.  I digress.

After my frustrations at the gym, I took it all out on the machines.  I did 30 hard minutes of crosstraining, and then did a 2 mile run/walk.  Afterward I rewarded myself with lemon pepper tilapia and fried okra + ketchup.  And TJ’s Soy Creamy Mango Vanilla.  If you’ve never had this — you’re seriously missing out.  It is like the best soy icecream with amazing mango sorbet.  Its like heaven in a frozen container.  And its vegan.  Delish.

Then, I crashed.  And crashed hard.  And this morning, I kept hitting snooze.  For about an hour.  Unfortunately that snooze hitting did not translate to “snoozing” on work.  And when I finally rolled out of bed this morning, I was running around with my head cut off in an attempt to get to work on time.  I failed miserably.  And arrived a half hour late.  Well a half hour late by my boss’ standards, but if you look at my contract: I was actually on time.  Sigh.  Can’t wait to re-enter the academia world as a student/academic.

Regardless, this morning I had oats in a jar!  (The photo will be coming later…its on my camera, and I cannot connect said camera to work computer.  Major fail.)  My oats contained:
1/3 c oats
1 tbsp Dark Chocolate Dreams PB
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp Amazing Meal
sprinkle of cinnamon
stevia
1/4 c Diamond Breeze unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

On the side I had frozen mango + blueberries.

Breakfast of champions.

Then I ran to work.  Literally ran.  And now I’m here.  So I should probably do work.

When you’re running uber late what do you cut out of your morning routine? I tend to cut out the actually doing anything with my hair/makeup and checking my outfit in the mirror before I leave.  Sometimes this backfires, but usually I’m okay.  Things I will never cut out: breakfast.  I cannot make it through the day without breakfast.  I never fail to consume.  Even if I don’t write about it, it was consumed.  Guaranteed.

Leave a Reply

